Group Article Project
Group Article Project
- Prepare a summary of a key human resource management article.
- You will need to find a minimum of 5 outside sources to support your summary
Business Source Ultimate
Search for articles. Possible keywords to use include:
- Employee programs and practices: employee motivation, leadership practices, empowerment, employee training, stress management/employee well-being, and diversity
- Group and interpersonal dynamics: group work, team leadership, communication, and power/politics
- Organizational processes and structure: job design, organizational culture, corporate ethical values, and organizational design
Best Bets
Finding Articles on Human Resource Management
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowProvides a wide variety of business full-text journals and magazines, including expanded access to Harvard Business Review’s (HBR) top 500 articles. Includes company information on over 1 million public and private companies with case studies, SWOT analysis, market research reports, and Standard and Poor’s Industry Surveys. Offers over 27,000 business videos from Academy of Management, HBR, Bloomberg and IGI Global.
- PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new windowFind information on management with a focus on psychological and behavioral aspects
Finding Company Information
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowAn extensive database that thoroughly examines individual companies and industries including financial data. Has the ability to create customized reports.
- US Newsstream (Proquest Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Full text access to 600 U.S. newspapers, including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.
More Management Articles
Visit the Management Research Guide for More Article Database Options
Group Company Project
Group Company Project
- Conduct an assessment of a Fortune 500 company
- Find information about its management practices and policies.
- Find a minimum of 20 sources, including people, articles, books and the Internet.
Business Source Ultimate
- Use for company profiles (includes SWOT analyses); newspaper articles and trade publications; academic journal articles
- Company Profile / MarketLine Report (includes SWOT analysis and company profile)
- Click on “Company Profiles” under “More” at top. Browse for company name (e.g. Tesla) and click on the report.
Mergent Online
- Use for finding financial data and information on company executives.
- Also a News tab at the bottom on the company details page.
Proquest Newspapers Database
- Use to find current articles on your company
- Includes articles from Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, and New York Times.
- Start with a search for your company. Your results will include a lot of stock market prices; you can get rid of most of these results by excluding Wire Feeds under Source Type on the left side of the page.
- Limit your date range to more recent articles.
- You can also use the Company/Organization limit to select your company and browse most recent news for relevant articles
Company Website
Start with your company’s website
- Try an internet search such as Target Corporate
- Look for a section called “careers” or “employment” or “culture” to find information on how the company promotes their corporate culture
- Try the power search annual report site:target.com to find the company’s annual report
- Look at sections: about us, employment/career opportunities, investor relations
- Consider policies, training programs, and what is emphasized on the website (diversity, going green, ethical suppliers).
Books from Chester Fritz Library
Books from Chester Fritz Library
- Chester Fritz Library has over 2,000 online books on the topic of human resource management.
- Do a search from the library's homepage
- Narrow on the right hand side under "Availability" to online.
- Below are just two reference books that provide definitions and explanations on management topics:
Key Concepts in Human Resource Management (Online)Publication Date: 2011-09-09An essential guide to the theories and issues that define the field - from the critical debates to the more practical considerations that every student should be aware of.
The Ultimate Management Book (online)Publication Date: 2019-05-07Gives you everything you need to be a better manager. It is a dynamic collection of essential skills covering the topics that will help you make a seismic impact upon your performance - faster than you ever thought possible.
