Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Services for Quarantined Students

Provides information on library resources and services available for students in quarantine or isolation due to COVID-19.

Accessing Databases Off-Campus

You can access our library databases off-campus by starting on the library homepage and:

  • Selecting "Quick Links" from the top right if you know the name of the database
  • Selecting "Databases A-Z" from the bottom left if you want to search, limit by subject, or browse alphabetically
  • Or by using a link from a Research Guide if you want to see which databases are recommended for your subject area

Newspapers

Want to read an article from a newspaper but ran into a paywall? Try our ProQuest Newspapers database! It provides full text access to over 600 U.S. newspapers, including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.

You can search it for a topic or a specific publication:

Screenshot from Proquest Newspapers database

We also have additional newspaper databases, listed below, or try the Library Newspaper Search.

Family Research

Looking for Family History Records?

Ancestry Library Edition (ALE) is a collection of historical and genealogical databases. It differs from a personal subscription by not having collaborative features. Although the bulk of the databases deal with U.S. records, there are also databases for Canada, the United Kingdom, and other countries.

Click on the links below to access Ancestry and learn how to use this valuable resource that is only available by subscription.  Access is provided by the State Library of North Dakota*

To use if you're off campus you will be prompted to type in your UND IDM 

  • firstname.lastname
  • password

*Sometimes you may need to do this 2 times on 2 different screens - use the same UND IDM

screen capture              screen capture

Search Tips
  • It is useful to have a research strategy, which includes identifying specific databases to search. Familiarize yourself with the navigation of the website and how to locate databases. It is generally advisable to search in one database at a time.
  • Database titles are sometimes misleading. Check the details about the contents of a database, located below the search interface, before searching in it for the first time.
  • Understand how and when to use wild cards in your searches as names can be misspelled in indexes. ALE uses both the asterisk(*) and the question mark (?) as wild cards.
  • Less is usually better for database searching. Only one wrong entry among the search criteria will return a negative result.
  • It is recommended to use the “Match all terms exactly” option at the top of the search form. This option gives you control over the results that are returned.

Contact the Department of Special Collections for more assistance with genealogical research and see the databases below for more information.