Primo

Primo, the discovery system, provides a single simple entry point for searching UND's Library resources.

In This Guide:

This guide is a quick introduction to the search tool on library's homepage. We'll help you take your research to the next level by teaching you:

  • what the library search is, how to use it, and how to get the most out of it,
  • how to refine your searches to quickly access the most relevant information,
  • the benefits of signing in to your library account to do research,
  • and how to use additional features to save you time and prevent frustration!

Searching the Library

When should you use the library search?

  • When when you want to know what UND Libraries has (articles, books, DVDs, journals, and more)
  • When your topic is multidisciplinary
  • When you want to find different kinds of resources
  • When you want to find a specific source
Looking for your textbook? Click here for more information!

Searching the Library

Everything - searches the library's print and online books, online journals, and online reference sources.
Articles - searches online journals, magazine and newspaper articles, reviews, and conference proceedings.
Books+ - searches all UND libraries' catalogs - books, videos, government documents, and journal titles in print.
Journal Titles - use this if you have the name of a journal and want to see if the library owns it online or in print.

Refine Your Search

 
Topic
Choose the topic(s) most relevant to your search or exclude unrelated topics
Author/Creator
Use this option if you are looking for results by a specific author.
Publication Date
Limit results by publication year to find both historical research and cutting-edge data.
Resource Type
Select the kinds of resources you want (like books or articles) or exclude those you don't want.
Collection
Narrow your results to holdings in a specific collection, like the Children's Collection, Special Collections, microfiche, or even online federal documents.
Database
Choose a specific database to view only sources and journals that are housed in that database and to take advantage of its customized tools.
Journal Title
View articles only from a specific journal.
Genre/Form
Limit results to biographies, DVDs, electronic books, and more.
Classification LCC
Limit results based on their subject classification in the Library of Congress system, which is organized by topic. 
Language
Choose which language(s) you'd like to limit your results to.
Library
Limit by library when you're only interested in the physical holdings of a specific UND library.

Maximize Features by Signing In!

Sign using your UND credentials to:

  • See and renew your loaned items 
  • Place holds to reserve items currently checked out
  • Place holds to request available items for easy pick-up
  • Save results and searches long term
  • Create email alerts or RSS feeds
  • Customize the number of results displayed
  • Create an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Request
  • Personalize your display language

To take advantage of your customized research profile, simply click on "Sign in" at the top right corner of the library homepage, and then log in using your UND credentials. It's that easy!


Saving Search Queries for Later

  • Look at the top of the results page, to the right of the number of results
  • Click "Save Query" -- now you're done -- find it in your favorites later!

Saving Sources for Later​

Quickly save search results with the click of a button. Don't chance not being able to find something again--save anything that might be helpful!

To save an item:

  • Click the push-pin button at the top right of the source entry. 

  •  Assign customized tags to each source (optional) to sort research quickly and efficiently. 

  • If you decide against needing a source, just click the push-pin button again to remove it.

Additional Features

  • Generate Citations:
    • Click the quotation mark button located in the top right corner of the source entry. 
    • The citation will appear at the bottom of the source entry.
    • Select the citation style you need.
    •  Click "Copy the Citation to Clipboard."
    • Paste it into your document--all finished!
  • Email a Source:
    • Click the envelope button between the citation and save buttons.
    • If you're already signed in, your email address will appear automatically.
    • Add a note to remind you why the source is helpful.
    • Press send, and you're done!

How does the Library Search work?

Placing Holds

Did you know that you can place holds on books, DVDs, and more at the library? You can use a hold for two different purposes, but the process is the same for each. You can use a hold to:
  • Reserve an item that's currently checked out. This won't recall it from the person who has it checked out, but it will ensure that you are the next person who gets it -- it will even send you an email notification when the book is available!
  • Request an available item for quick and easy pick-up at the library. Do you have a busy work schedule, or did you find the perfect resource from home outside of library hours? No problem! Just place a hold on the available item(s) in the library, and you will receive an email when your hold is available for pick-up at the circulation desk.
  • Talk directly with the Circulation staff (701.777.4644) of you need assistance or have a rush request.
Once you've signed in to your library account and found a book, DVD, or other item that you want to reserve, click on it and then select "Get It" on the screen that pops up.

After clicking the "Get It" select "Hold," and a hold request menu will appear. Change your "Last interest date," if necessary, then click "Send Request." Now you're done! Be sure to watch your UND email for a notification that your request is available to pick up. 

Renewals

To renew items that you have checked out, first sign into your account on the library homepage using your UND credentials. Then, click on your account in the top right corner of the screen and select "My Loans" from the dropdown menu. 

From there, you will see a list of all of your active loans, their due dates, and whether each item is eligible for renewal.

To renew all eligible materials, simply click the "Renew All" button in the top right corner of the box. For individual items, click "Renew" next to each item of which you would to extend its due date.