Skip to Main Content

Peer Research Consultants

Training and information for PRCs

Videos about Databases from English 130

Please watch the English 130 Lesson videos to better understand how the databases function.

After getting background information:

Credo Database

Credo is a very useful starting place for a vast range of topics that will be one of the most helpful tools when working with patrons. This is a good site to use when looking for background information on a subject.

Credo Contains:

  • Definitions
  • Reference materials
  • Pro's/Con's

Tips and Tricks:

  • After searching something, there might be a web of words that pops up on the right side of your screen. This web on is a great way to explore other topics related to the subject you searched. Clicking on other topics may bring you to more and more webs 
  • It can offer quick little definitions or longer detailed ones- you can sort these by length to find the information you are looking for

Ebsco Databases

Ebsco contains:

  • Very comprehensive and broad collections (Academic Search or Business Source Complete)
  • Very specialized collections (RILM Abstracts of Music Literature)
  • E-books 
  • Resources Geared towards public and school libraries

There are some tips to:

  • Make the best use of Ebsco by becoming familiar with the databases on the Ebsco Platform
  • "Clumping" related databases together to search at once

Remember:

  • You don't have to choose ALL of these suggest Ebsco databases in the same search
  • Use your judgment - depending on the purpose and topic of the research
  • Mouse over the Quote Boxes for description of the database
  • Also, you can always include Academic Search Complete and/or Business Source Complete at this point
  • MAKE DATABASE SELECTIONS FIRST before entering your search terms
  • After you run the search, you can see on the results page the databases and number of results in each

Tips and Tricks

Best Bets

Many of the subject research guides including best bets for databases.  For example: Accountancy Best Bets: https://libguides.und.edu/accountancy

You can also find Best Bets under Databases A-Z.  For example, Best Bets for Government Resources:

https://libguides.und.edu/az.php?s=21646

  • Find the permalink for a specific article and share it with a student?
    • When looking at an article there is a button that says "permalink" click on it and it provides the permalink for that article, you can copy and paste it to a word document and email it to the student. 
  • Find the permalink for my search results and share it with a student?
    • When looking at the results lists there is a button called "Share" click on it and there is a URL for the permalink and you can copy and paste it to a word document and email it to the student. 
  • Don't use periods (such as U.S.) - spell out the word instead
  • Take out words such as: in, an, a, the, from...
  • If you notice a word showing up as a subject term, change the search box option to "subject"
  • Using filters in the databases to narrow by publication date, language, topic, etc
    • Remember for publication date, unless specified patrons should be looking for articles within an 8-10 year span
  • DON'T EVER CHECK THE FULL TEXT BOX!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • 25-60 is a good results amount. 
    • It all depends on context for the number of results. 
  • Better to look at subject words than keywords unless brainstorming
  • When looking up a historical figure like Jean Piaget, use the last name only, not the first name
  • Use Ctrl F to find how many times your key words appear to find out if the article pertains mainly to your topic