Philosophy & Religion

Reference Books on World Religions

THESE ARE A FEW OF THE BOOKS THAT ARE IN THE REFERENCE AREA ON THE 2nd FLOOR: (Please use a style manual for creating bibliographies).  IN LIBRARY USE ONLY.

The A-Z of Death and Dying: Social Medical, and Cultural Aspects.  Michael Brenna, ed.  Santa Barbara: Greenwood, 2014.  REF HQ 1073 .A22 2014

American Indian Religious Traditions: An Encyclopedia.  3 vols.  Suzanne J. Crawford and Dennis F. Kelley.  Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2005.   REF E 98 .R3 C755 2005

American Jewish Desk Reference. New York: Random House, 1999.  E 184.35 .A44 1999 (no longer in Reference, now in regular shelves)

Art and Architecture of the World's Religions.  2 vols.  Leslie Ross.  Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2009.  REF N 7790 .R67 2009 

Asian Americans: An Encyclopedia of Social, Cultural, Economic, and Political History.  Xiaojian Zhao and Edward J. W. Park, eds.  Santa Barbara: Greenwood, 2014.  REF E 184 .A75 A842648 2014

Atlas of American Religion: The Denominational Era, 1776-1990.  William M. Newman and Peter L. Halvorson.  Walnut Creek, CA: AltaMira, 2000.  REF BR 515 .N49 2000

Atlas of Global Christianity 1910-2010.  Todd M. Johnson and Kenneth R. Ross, eds.  Edinburgh: Edinburgh UP, 2009.  REF G 1046 .E42 A8 2009

Atlas of the World's Religions.  Ninian Smart and Frederick W. [i.e.M.] Denny, eds.  2nd ed. Oxford: Oxford UP, 2007.  REF G 1046 .E4 A7 2007 

The Cambridge Dictionary of Christianity.  Daniel Patte, ed.  Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2010.  REF BR 95 .C24 2010

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Darwin and Evolutionary Thought.  Michael Ruse.  Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2013.  REF QH 360.2 .C36 2013

Concise Encyclopedia of Amish, Brethren, Hutterites, and Mennonites.  Donald B. Kraybill.  Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins UP, 2010.  REF BX 4931.3 .C67 2010 

Contemporary American Religion.  Wade Clark Roof, ed.  New York: Macmillan, 2000.  REF BL 2525 .C65 2000

A Dictionary of Buddhism.  Damien Keown.  Oxford: Oxford UP, 2003.  REF BQ 130 .K46 2003

Dictionary of Third World Theologies.  Virginia Fabella and R. S. Sugirtharajah, eds.  Maryknoll: Orbis, 2000.  (Covers areas, countries, peoples, theologies, globalization, racism, oppression, and the Bible from missionary propaganda to liberation theology manual).  REF BR 95 .D486 2000

Distinguished Native American Spiritual Practitioners and Healers.  Troy R. Johnson.  Westport: Oryx, 2002.  REF E 89 .J7 2002

The Eerdmans Dictionary of Early Judaism.  John J. Collins and Daniel C. Harlow, eds.  Grand Rapids, MI: William B. Eerdmans, 2010.  REF BM 176 .E34 2010

Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions.  Stephen D. Glazier, ed.  New York: Routledge, 2001.  REF BL 2462.5 .E53 2001

The Encyclopedia of American Religions.  J. Gordon Melton.  Wilmington: McGrath, 1999.  REF BL 2525 .M449 ed. 6 1999

The Encyclopedia of American Religions: Religious Creeds.  1st ed.  J. Gordon Melton, ed.  Detroit: Gale, 1988.  REF BT 990 .E58 1988

Encyclopedia of American Religious History.  Rev. ed.  Edward L. Queen, et al.  New York: Facts on File, 2001.  REF BL 2525 .Q44 2001

Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy.  Oliver Leaman, ed.  London: Routledge, 2001.  REF B 121 .E53 2001

Encyclopedia of Buddhism.  Robert E. Buswell, Jr., ed.  New York: Macmillan, 2004.  REF BQ 128 .E62 2004

Encyclopedia of Chinese Philosophy.  Antonio S. Cua, ed.  London: Routledge, 2003.  REF B 126 .E496 2003

The Encyclopedia of Christianity.  Erwin Fahlbusch et al., eds.  Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1999.  REF BR 95 .E8913 1999

Encyclopedia of Early Christianity.  2nd ed.  Everett Ferguson, ed.  New York: Garland, 1998.  REF BR 162.2 .E53 1998

The Encyclopedia of Eastern Orthodox Christianity.  John Anthony McGuckin.  Chichester, West Sussex, UK; Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011.  REF BX 230 .E53 2011

Encyclopedia of Evangelicalism.  Randall Balmer.  Louisville: Westminster John Knox, 2002.  REF BR 1640 .B35 2002

Encyclopedia of Hair: A Cultural History.  Victoria Sherrow.  Westport, CT: Greenwood, 2006.  REF TT 957 .S46 2006

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World.  Richard C. Martin, ed.  New York: Macmillan, 2004.  REF BP 40 .E525 2004

Encyclopedia of Jihad.  5 vols.  R. K. Pruthi, ed.  New Delhi: Anmol, 2002.  REF BP 182 .P78 2002 

The Encyclopedia of Judaism.  Jacob Neusner, et al, eds.  New York: Continuum, 1999.  REF BM 50 .E63 1999

Encyclopedia of Latino Culture.  Charles M. Tatum, ed.  Santa Barbara: Greenwood, 2014.  REF E 184 .S75 E588 2014

Encyclopedia of Native American Religions: An Introduction.  Arlene Hirschfelder and Paulette Molin.  New York: Facts on File, 2000.  REF E 98 .R3 H73 2000

Encyclopedia of Native American Shamanism: Sacred Ceremonies of North America.  William S. Lyon.  Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1998.  REF E 98 .M4 L98 1998

Encyclopedia of New Religious Movements.  Peter B. Clarke, ed.  London: Routledge 2006.  REF BL 31 .E453 2006

The Encyclopedia of Protestantism.  4 vols.  Hans Hillerbrand, ed.  New York: Routledge, 2004.  REF BX 4811.3 .E53 2004 

Encyclopedia of Religion.  2nd ed.  15 vols.  Lindsay Jones, ed.  Detroit: Macmillan, 2005.  REF BL 31 .E46 2005

Encyclopedia of Religion and War.  Gabriel Palmer-Fernandez, ed.  New York: Routledge, 2004.  REF BL 80.3 .E53 2004

Encyclopedia of Religion, Communication, and Media.  Daniel A. Stout, ed.  New York: Routledge, 2006.  REF P 94 .E48 2006 

Encyclopedia of Science and Religion.  J. Wentzel Vrede Van Huyssteen, ed.  New York: Macmillan, 2003.  REF BL 240.3 .E53 2003

Encyclopedia of Sikh Religion and Culture.  Ramesh Chander Dogra and Gobind Singh Mansukhani.  New Delhi: Vikas, 1996.  REF BL 2017.3 .D64 1996

Encyclopedia of the Historical Jesus.  Craig A. Evans, ed.  New York: Routledge, 2008.  REF BT 303.2 .E56 2008

Encyclopaedia of the Quran.  Jane Dammen McAuliffe, ed.  Leiden: Brill, 2001.  REF BP 133 .E53 2001

Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America.  3 vols.  Rosemary Skinner Keller and Rosemary Radford Ruether, eds.  Bloomington: Indiana UP, 2006.  REF BL 458 .E52 2006

Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion.  Serinity Young, ed.  New York: Macmillan, 1999.  REF BL 458 .E53 1999

The Facts on File Dictionary of Classical, Biblical and Literary Allusions.  Abraham H. Lass, David Kiremidjian and Ruth M. Goldstein.  New York: Facts on File, 1987.  REF PN 43 .L37 1987

Feet and Footwear: A Cultural Encyclopedia.  Margo DeMello.  Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2009.  REF GT 2130 .D45 2009

Global Dictionary of Theology.  William A. Dyrness and Veli-Matti Karkkainen, eds.  Downers Grove, IL: IVP Academic, 2008.  REF BR 95 .G56 2008

The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture.  Jonathan M. Bloom and Sheila S. Blair, eds.  Oxford: Oxford UP, 2009.  REF N 6260 .G75 2009

Historical Dictionary of Islam.  Ludwig W. Adamec.  Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 2001.  REF BP 50 .A33 2001

Historical Dictionary of New Religious Movements.  George D. Chryssides.  Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 2001.  REF BP 601 .C47 2001

Historical Dictionary of Prophets in Islam and Judaism.  Scott B. Noegel and Brannon M. Wheeler.  Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 2002.  REF BM 645 .P67 N64 2002

Historical Dictionary of Shinto.  Stuart D. B. Picken.  Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 2002.  REF BL 2216.1 .P53 2002

Historical Dictionary of Taoism.  Julian F. Pas and Man Kam Leung.  Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 1998.  REF BL 1923 .P37 1998

Historical Dictionary of the Friends (Quakers).  Margery Post Abbott, ed.  Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 2003.  REF BX 7611 .H57 2003

Historical Dictionary of Unitarian Universalism.  Mark W. Harris.  Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 2004  REF BX 9809 .H37 2004

History of Islamic Philosophy.  Seyyed Hossein Nasr and Oliver Leaman.  London; New York: Routledge, 1996.  REF B 741 .H58 1996

The History of Science and Religion in the Western Tradition: An Encyclopedia.  Gary B. Ferngren, et al., eds.  New York: Garland, 2000.  REF BL 245 .H57 2000

Homosexuality and Religion: An Encyclopedia.  Jeffrey S. Siker, ed.  Westport: Greenwood, 2007.  REF BL 65 .H64 H63 2007

Human Rights and the World's Major Religions.  5 vols.  Westport: Praeger, 2005.  (v.1 The Jewish Tradition v.2 The Christian Tradition v.3 The Islamic Tradition v.4 The Hindu Tradition v.5 The Buddhist Tradition)  REF BL 65 .H78 H8595 2005

The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Hinduism.  1st ed.  James G. Lochtefeld.  New York: Rosen, 2002.  REF BL 1105 .L63 2002

Jesus in History, Thought, and Culture: An Encyclopedia.  Leslie Houlden, ed.  Santa Barbara, CA:  ABC-CLIO, 2003.  REF BR 145.3 .J47 2003

The JPS Dictionary of Jewish Words.  Joyce Eisenberg and Ellen Scolnic.  Philadephia: Jewish Publication Society, 2001.  REF BM 50 .E47 2001

New Catholic Encyclopedia.  2nd ed.  15 vols.  Detroit: Thomson/Gale, 2003.  REF BX 841 .N44 2003

The New Encyclopedia of Islam.  Rev. ed.  Cyril Glasse.  Walnut Creek: Altamira, 2001.  REF BP 40 .G42 2001

The New Encyclopedia of Judaism.  Geoffrey Wigoder, ed.  New York: New York UP, 2002.  REF BM 50 .E63 2002

The New Encyclopedia of Unbelief.  Tom Flynn, ed.  Amherst, NY: Prometheus Books, 2007.  REF BL 2705 .N49 2007

New Historical Atlas of Religion in America.  Edwin Scott Gaustad and Philip L. Barlow, eds.  New York: Oxford UP, 2001.  REF G 1201 .E4 N4 2001 Atlas Case (denominational distribution from Colonial times to 1990)

New Religions: A Guide: New Religious Movements, Sects, and Alternative Spiritualities.  Christopher Partridge, ed.  New York: Oxford UP, 2004.  REF BP 603 .N492 2004

The New Westminster Dictionary of Christian Spirituality.  Philip Sheldrake, ed.  Louisville: Westminster John Knox, 2005  REF BV 4488 .N49 2005

The Oxford Companion to Christian Thought.  Adrian Hastings, et al., eds.  Oxford: Oxford UP, 2000.  REF BR 95 .O94 2000

The Oxford Dictionary of World Religions.  John Bowker, ed.  Oxford: Oxford UP, 1997.  REF BL 31 .O84 1997

The Quran: An Encyclopedia.  Oliver Leaman, ed.  London; New York: Routledge, 2007.  REF BP 133 .Q87 2007

A Popular Dictionary of Paganism.  Joanne Pearson.  London: RoutledgeCurzon, 2002.  REF BP 605 .N46 P43 2002 

The Princton Guide to Evolution.  Jonathan B. Losos, ed.  Princeton: Princeton UP, 2014.  REF QH 367 .P85 2014   Covers chapters on "Creationism and Intelligent Design" and "Evolution and Religion."

Religion and American Cultures: Tradition, Diversity, and Popular Expression.  2nd ed.  Gary Laderman and Luis D. Leon, eds.  Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2015  REF BL 2525 .R448 2015.

Religions of the World: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices.  4 vols.  J. Gordon Melton and Martin Baumann, ed.  Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2002.  REF BL 80.3 .R54 2002

Shamanism: An Encyclopedia of World Beliefs, Practices, and Culture.  Mariko Namba Walter and Eva Jane Neumann Fridman, eds.  Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2004.  REF GN 475.8 .S445 2004

The Yad Vashem Encyclopedia of the Ghettos during the Holocaust.  Guy Miron and Shlomit Shulhani, eds.  Jerusalem: Yad Vashem, 2009.  REF D 805 .A2 Y33 2009

Subject Guide

Kristen Borysewicz's picture
Kristen Borysewicz
Contact:
Reference and Research Services,
2nd Floor Chester Fritz Library
701-777-4647
Website