Philosophy & Religion

Reference Books on Bible Interpretation

THESE ARE A FEW OF THE BOOKS THAT ARE IN THE REFERENCE AREA ON THE 2nd FLOOR: (Please use a style manual for creating bibliographies).  IN LIBRARY USE ONLY.

THE REFERENCE PRINT RESOURCES--WORLD RELIGIONS TAB HAS OTHER TITLES RELEVANT TO THE CHRISTIAN AND JEWISH FAITHS:

 The Anchor Bible Dictionary.  David Noel Freedman, ed.  New York: Doubleday, 1992.  REF BS 440 .A54 1992

The Catholic Study Bible.  2nd ed.  Donald Senior and John J. Collins, eds.  New York: Oxford UP, 2006.  REF BS 192.3 .A1 2006 .N49 

The Complete Gospels: Annotated Scholars Version.  Rev. ed.  Robert J. Miller, ed.  San Franciso: HarperSanFrancisco, 1994.  REF BS 2553 .S24 1994

Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation.  John H. Hayes, ed.  Nashville: Abingdon, 1999.  REF BS 500 .D5 1999

Eerdmans Commentary on the Bible.  James D. G. Dunn, ed.  Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2003.  REF BS 491.3 .E37 2003

Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible.  David Noel Freedman, ed.  Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2000.  REF BS 440 .E44 2000

 

The Facts on File Dictionary of Classical, Biblical and Literary Allusions.  Abraham H. Lass, David Kiremidjian and Ruth M. Goldstein.  New York: Facts on File, 1987.  REF PN 43 .L37 1987

 

The HarperCollins Bible Commentary.  Rev. ed.  James L. Mays, ed.  San Francisco: HarperSanFrancisco, 2000.  REF BS 491.2 .H37 2000

 

The HarperCollins Bible Dictionary.  Rev. and updated.  3rd. ed.  Mark Allan Powell, ed.  New York: HarperOne, 2011.  REF BS 440 .H235 2011

HarperCollins Study Bible.  Rev. ed.  Harold W. Attridge, ed.  San Francisco: HarperOne, 2006.  REF BS 191.5.A1 2006. S36

The Hebrew English Concordance to the Old Testament: With the New International Version.  John R. Kohlenberger III and James A. Swanson.  Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1998.  REF BS 1121 .K65 1998

Holman Quicksource Bible Atlas: With Charts and Biblical Reconstructions.  Paul H. Wright.  Nashville: Holman Bible, 2005.

The Jewish Study Bible.  2nd ed. Adele Berlin and Marc Zvi Brettler, eds.  Oxford: Oxford UP, 2014.  REF BS 895 .J4 2014

The Macmillan Bible Atlas.  3rd ed.  Yohanan Aharoni and Michael Avi-Yonah.  New York: Macmillan, 1993.  REF G 2230 .A2 1993

The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible.  George Arthur Buttrick, ed.  Nashville: Abingdon, 2006.  REF BS 440 .N443 2006

The New Interpreter's Study Bible: New Revised Standard Version with the Apocrypha.  Walter J. Harrelson, ed.  Nashville: Abingdon, 2003.  REF BS 191.5 .A1 2003 .N49 2003

The New Jerome Biblical Commentary.  Raymond E. Brown, Joseph A. Fitzmyer, and Roland E. Murphy, eds.  Englewood Cliffs: Prentice-Hall, 1990.  REF BS 491.2 .N485 1990

The New Oxford Annotated Bible: New Revised Standard Version: With the Apocrypha: An Ecumencial Study Bible.  4th ed.  Michael D. Coogan, ed.  Oxford: Oxford UP, 2010.  ACCESS SERVICES PERMANENT RESERVE BS 191.5 .A1 2010 O94 2010

Oxford Bible Atlas.  4th ed.  Adrian Curtis, ed.  Oxford: Oxford UP, 2007.  REF BS 630 .O96 2007

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the Arts.  Timothy Beal, ed.  Oxford: Oxford UP, 2015.  REF BS 538.7 .O94 2015.

The Oxford Illustrated History of the Bible.  John Rogerson, ed.  Oxford: Oxford UP, 2001.  REF BS 445 .O94 2001

The Sacred Bridge: Carta's Atlas of the Biblical World.  Anson F. Rainey, and R. Steven Notley.  Jerusalem: Carta, 2006.  REF G 2230 .R28 2006

The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible.  Merrill C. Tenney, ed.  Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2009.  REF BS 440 .Z63 2009

Zondervan NIV Study Bible: New International Version.  Kenneth L. Barker, ed.  Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2002.  REF BS 195 .N37 2002f

 

Subject Guide

Kristen Borysewicz's picture
Kristen Borysewicz
Contact:
Reference and Research Services,
2nd Floor Chester Fritz Library
701-777-4647
Website