Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Services Tutorials
Adobe Flash Player 10 and audio output (speakers or headphones).
Welcome MPH 550 students! On this website, you'll find links to resources that we hope will help you this semester. Check back regularly, so as not to miss updates.
We want to help!
Keep in mind that you can contact a librarian at any point in your research process. Don't feel that you have to struggle for hours before asking for help. We like to say, "If you haven't found anything after 15 minutes, it's time to call a librarian!" Look for the "Get More Help" box located on the right-hand column on every Library of the Health Sciences how-to guide.
Suggested Search Starters
Below you'll find a short list of databases that you might use to start your research. For help using any of these resources, please contact the library. I am also available for individual research consultation appointments. Use the contact information on the right to reach me. For additional search tips, please go to the "Searching Tips" page of this guide.
ERIC is a core resource for finding education literature.
CINAHL is a core resource for nursing & allied health sciences. The database covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative medicine, consumer health and other allied health sciences.
Use this resource to search for dissertations and theses. Some free full-text is available. If full-text isn't available for free, you have the option of requesting a copy via Interlibrary Loans or purchasing a copy directly via ProQuest.
PsycINFO is a core resource for finding peer-reviewed literature related to behavioral science and mental health, including concepts like decision-making and self-identity.
PubMed is a core database for finding articles related to clinical medicine and medical research, but it covers other health science disciplines too.
Scopus is a large citation and abstract database that pulls from 17,000 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers research in the medical, scientific, social sciences and technical fields.