Second edition of this popular self-study guide for students of Russian. Each chapter covers a grammar point: i.e., a part of speech (noun, verb, pronoun, adjective), a word's function in a sentence (subject, direct object, indirect object), a grammatical term (tense, conjugation, declension, gender). Each chapter is divided into two sections: 1. In English: grammar is explained as it relates to English, anticipating concepts necessary for Russian. 2. In Russian: grammar is explained as it relates to Russian, with examples and explanations of the rules applied. Points out similarities, differences, and alerts students to pitfalls.
This expanded and updated reference book lists approximately 5,100 Russian idiomatic words and expressions with their translations into English. Included are figures of speech, slang, and vulgarisms, many of which cannot be found in standard Russian-English dictionaries. Here are valuable insights on how Russian is really spoken today.
Online resources to help you learn and practice Russian.
Based on American rather than British English, this is among the first Russian dictionaries revised for the post-Soviet era. Includes new political terminology, new Russian institutions, new countries and republics and new city names. Irregularities in Russian declensions and conjugations appear at the beginning of each entry.
This fully updated and revised edition includes new
supplementary material with a correspondence section, grammar help, and special treatment of commonly used but tricky words. The text has also been updated with thousands of new English and Russian words, especially important given changes in language and culture over the last few years. The dictionary is more accessible than ever for those struggling to master Russian--words are now shown in context to help users select the most appropriate translation.
Materials on Russian history and culture can be found on the fourth floor of the library and materials on Russian language and literature can be found on the third floor of the library, in the following call number ranges.
History of Russia. Soviet Union. Former Soviet Republics
Online texts, sites, and sources about Russian language, culture, and history.
This website's goal is to provide free access to key historical works and publications stored in major book depositories and national archives throughout Russia, which are not easily accessible. Presentations of digital text and content include interactive timelines, encyclopedic entries, browseable categories, and more.
Explore the many different subject collections available from this institution. Currently 21 collections available to users (2011). Included is a collection of thousands of digitized Russian Classic Texts from the 18th-20th Centuries. You may also explore the "favorites" among these classical texts (still about 1000 titles).
Created and maintained by the Slavic and East European Language Resource Center (SEELRC) of Duke University. Links to a wide variety of online resources about all aspects of Russian culture, language, and history.
The Jordan Center for the Advanced Study of Russia was established in 2011 thanks to a generous gift from the family of NYU alumni Boris and Elizabeth Jordan. The mission of the Center is to make Russia intrinsic to all aspects of scholarly investigation: from history to visual culture, literature to economics, anthropology to politics.