These information resources are not meant to be a substitute for advice provided by a qualified healthcare professional. If you have questions or need assistance in making health decisions, please consult with a doctor, pharmacist, or other healthcare professional.
All Topics | AIDS & HIV | American Indian Health | Cancer | Child Development | Complementary & Alternative Medicine | Cookbooks | Costs | Decision Making | Dictionaries & Medical Terms | Diet & Nutrition | Doctors & Physician Assistants | Drugs & Supplements | Easy-to-Read & Other Languages | Emergencies | Environment & Safety | Exercise & Fitness | Family Health History | Genetics | History of Medicine | Hospitals | Mental Health | Military & Veterans Health | Publications, Ordering free or Low-Cost | Research & Statistics | Scams & Fraud | Smoking | Substance Abuse | Tests
All Topics
- MedlinePlusmedical encyclopedia, videos, drug information, links to websites (Mayo, American Medical Association, etc.). Available in English and Spanish
- healthfinder.gov"science-based prevention and wellness information"
- NIHMedlinePlus, the magazineHealth information, latest NIH-supported research, feature stories of famous individuals explaining how they have handled health challenges. Website includes articles in both English and Spanish. Free English print subscriptions available.
- Rare Disease DatabaseCreated by National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD)
AIDS & HIV
- AIDSinfoHIV/AIDS treatment, prevention, research
American Indian Health
- American Indian & Alaska Native Genetics Resource Center"Goal of this guide is to provide tribal leaders and AI/AN peoples with the tools and information they need to make their own informed decisions about genetics research." Developed by the National Congress of American Indians Policy Research Center. PDF version of guide also available
- American Indian Health and Diet ProjectIncludes traditional indigenous recipes
- Eagle Books & Graphic Novels for YouthDiabetes prevention through physical activity and nutrition novels and graphic novels for American Indian students
- Eagle Books for Early ReadersDiabetes prevention through physical activity and nutrition books, videos, podcasts, and coloring books for American Indian students
- Education Materials and Resources Online Catalog (U.S. Indian Health Service)Materials available to download and free to order for American Indian and Alaska Native peoples and organizations serving those populations. Search by Audience, Topic, Format (Video, Podcast, Digital Book. etc.) or Title/Keyword.
- Native Voices: Native People's Concepts of Health and IllnessOnline exhibit that explores interconnectedness of wellness, illness, and cultural life for Native Americans, Alaska Natives, and Native Hawaiians
- Native Voices app (Android)
Video interviews with Alaska Natives, Native Americans and Native Hawaiians who practice traditional medicine, Western medicine or a combination of both. Official app of Native Voices: Native Peoples' Concepts of Health and Illness exhibit at National Library of Medicine. - Native Voices app (Apple iOS iPad)Video interviews with Alaska Natives, Native Americans and Native Hawaiians who practice traditional medicine, Western medicine or a combination of both. Official app of Native Voices: Native Peoples' Concepts of Health and Illness exhibit at National Library of Medicine.
- Strong Families Respect Each Other: What Native Youth Need to Know About Domestic ViolenceNational Indigenous Women’s Resource Center's 14-page PDF booklet
- Strong Families Respect Each Other: What Native Youth Need to Know About the Connection Between Sexual Assault and Domestic ViolenceNational Indigenous Women’s Resource Center's 12-page PDF booklet
Cancer
- Cancer (MedlinePlus)Also may search for information about specific types of cancer
- NCI Dictionary of Cancer Terms (National Cancer Institute)Includes some audio pronunciations
- PDQ® Cancer Information Summaries (National Cancer Institute)Select type of summary (Adult Treatment, Pediatric Treatment, etc.) in left menu and then look for links to patient version under specific cancers
Child Development
Milestone Tracker app
Milestone Moments by 24-page PDF booklet
Complementary & Alternative Medicine
- American Indian & Alaska Native Healthfor health consumers, educators, professionals & researchers
- Dietary Supplement Label DatabaseManufacturers' labels for some dietary supplements (vitamins, minerals, herbs or other botanicals, amino acids, and other specialty supplements) marketed in the U.S.
- Drugs, Supplements, and Herbal Information (MedlinePlus)Info. from American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP); Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database; National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine; Office of Dietary Supplements at National Institutes of Health; National Cancer Institute
- Native Voices: Native People's Concepts of Health and IllnessOnline exhibit that explores interconnectedness of wellness, illness, and cultural life for Native Americans, Alaska Natives, and Native Hawaiians
- Native Voices app (Android)Video interviews with Alaska Natives, Native Americans and Native Hawaiians who practice traditional medicine, Western medicine or a combination of both. Official app of Native Voices: Native Peoples' Concepts of Health and Illness exhibit at National Library of Medicine.
- Native Voices app (Apple iOS iPad)Grade 7+
Video interviews with Alaska Natives, Native Americans and Native Hawaiians who practice traditional medicine, Western medicine or a combination of both. Official app of Native Voices: Native Peoples' Concepts of Health and Illness exhibit at National Library of Medicine.
Cookbooks
Related information included in Diet & Nutrition
Costs
- Healthcare Bluebook"Find out what you should expect to pay for healthcare services in your area"
Decision Making & Planning
- Ask Me 3four-minute National Patient Safety Foundation video shows what kinds of questions to ask and how to ask questiions
- Health Care Directive Forms (Honoring Choices North Dakota)Short and long PDF forms
- My Family Health PortraitCreate a family health history to learn about diseases that may run in your family, and print and share with family and health providers to make better health decisions
- Ottawa Personal Decision GuideGuide to thinking about needs and planning next steps for health or social decisions. French, Spanish, Swedish, German, Dutch, Japanese versions also available
- Ottawa Personal Decision Guide for TwoGuide to thinking about needs and planning next steps for health or social decisions that affect two people. French version also available
- Question Buildercreate and print custom list of questions for each medical appointment
Dictionaries & Medical Terms
- Glossary (HealthCare.gov)Explains insurance terms
- NCI Dictionary of Cancer Terms (National Cancer Institute)Includes some audio pronunciations
Diet & Nutrition
- ChooseMyPlate.govHealthy eating, includes tools like SuperTracker (tracks foods, exercise, weight, etc.) and What's Cooking? USDA Mixing Bowl (recipes, cookbooks)
- Healthy EatingFrom National Institute on Aging
- Nutrition.gov- includes Recipe Finder and ability to create personalized cookbook
- Nutrition.gov brochure available - What's On Your Plate? Smart Food Choices for Healthy AgingEating plans, nutrition information, shopping and food safety tips, etc. Download PDF book or order free print copy.
Related information included in Cookbooks
Doctors & Physician Assistants
- Certification Matters (American Board of Medical Specialties)Search for specific doctor or search by location and specialty to find doctors certified to practice in medical specialties. Free registration is required.
- docInfo (Federation of State Medical Boards)Search by name to find school graduated from, where licensed to practice, and if doctor or physician assistant has been disciplined by a licensing board.
- Find a Practitioner/Verify License Status (North Dakota Board of Medicine)Licensure status of North Dakota physicians, physician assistants, and genetic counselors, as well as disciplinary information
- GLMA Providers DirectoryHealth Professionals Advancing LGBTQ Equality
- OpenPaymentsData.CMS.gov"Search payments made by drug and medical device companies to physicians and teaching hospitals."
- Physician Compare (Medicare)"Find and choose physicians and other health care professionals enrolled in Medicare"
Drugs & Supplements
Easy-to-Read & Other Languages
- HealthReachMultilingual and multicultural health information for individuals with limited English skills, also includes videos
- Kids' Medical DictionaryEnglish & Spanish
Emergencies
- American Red Cross Mobile AppsFree first aid, disaster, and game apps
- Disasters (MedlinePlus)Health topic pages covering emergency preparedness and various types of emergencies
- FEMA
Emergency preparedness, applying for assistance, current disaster recovery centers. Apple iOS and Google Android apps also available - Household Products DatabasePotential health effects of chemicals found in homes, garages, and yards
- Mickey & Friends Disaster Preparedness Activity BookDisney and American Red Cross activity book
- Monster Guard (Apple iOS app)
American Red Cross game showing how to prepare for emergencies and stay safe during emergencies - Monster Guard (Google Android app)
American Red Cross game showing how to prepare for emergencies and stay safe during emergencies - Ready.gov- preparation for emergencies, games for kids
- download or order free publications - Ready Wrigley Activities (Apple iOS app)
Storybook, coloring book, and activities to teach children how to stay safe during emergencies. Adaptation of the Ready Wrigley activity book series - Ready Wrigley BooksReady Wrigley Preparedness Pup activity books cover winter weather, extreme heat, tornadoes, earthquakes, etc.
- Ready Wrigley Emergency Kit ChecklistOne-page handout
Environment & Safety
- Household Products DatabasePotential health effects of chemicals in common home products.
- Recalls.govRecall information for food, medicines, cosmetics, consumer products, environmental products, motor vehicles, etc.
- Tox TownInteractive guide to toxic chemicals and environmental health risks
- TOXMAPAmount and location of toxic chemicals released into environment
Exercise & Fitness
- BAM! Body and MindCombination exercise, nutrition, and more web site created by U.S. Center for Disease Control and Prevention
- Go4Life- Save exercise plans, logs and other physical activity records
- Download Workout to Go: A Sample Exercise Routine from the National Institute on Aging at NIH booklet or order free copy
- Download Exercise & Physical Activity: Your Everyday Guide from the National Institute on Aging, listen to audiobook, or order free copy
- Order free Go4Life: Everyday Exercises from the National Institute on Aging DVD
Family Health History
- How to Create My Family Health PortraitTwo-page PDF handout describing information to include and directions for organizing that information. Online My Family Health Portrait form also is available
- My Family Health PortraitCreate a family health history to learn about diseases that may run in your family, and print and share with family and health providers to make better health decisions
Fraud
Genetics
- American Indian & Alaska Native Genetics Resource Center"Goal of this guide is to provide tribal leaders and AI/AN peoples with the tools and information they need to make their own informed decisions about genetics research." Developed by the National Congress of American Indians Policy Research Center. PDF version of guide also available
- Finding Your Roots – The Seedlings: EpisodesVideos of young scientists exploring genetics, genealogy, and anthropology topics
- Gene Therapy: Your Questions AnsweredShort video (5:56) created by National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD)
- Genetics Home Reference"Consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variation on human health"
- The Genetics of CancerGenetic changes that promote cancer, cancers that can be inherited, and genetic testing
- Help Me Understand GeneticsBasic information about human genetics. Read online, download entire book as PDF file, and/or download individual chapters.
- Rare Disease DatabaseCreated by National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD)
- Talking Glossary of Genetic TermsAudio definitions by National Human Genome Research Institute experts. Includes some illustrations, 3D animations, and multiple-choice “Test Your Gene Knowledge” quiz that randomly chooses a definition (quiz is never the same) to identify.
History of Medicine
- Color Our CollectionsImages from U.S. National Library of Medicine historical collections to color with links to original digitized files of each image.
- Digital CollectionsU.S. National Library of Medicine's collection of free online books, art, photographs, engravings, posters, videos, and maps.
- Greek MedicineBrief history of Greek medicine covering Hippocrates, Aristotle, Galen, and other Greek physicians.
Hidden TreasureDownloadable PDF book featuring rare, beautiful, and surprising items in the world’s largest medical library collection (at the U.S. National Library of Medicine).
- Medical Heritage LibraryDigital collection of free history of medicine books, films, etc. from more than 20 of world’s leading medical libraries.
- Online Exhibitions (U.S. National Library of Medicine)Variety of online exhibits including:
- And there’s the Humor of it: Shakespeare and the Four Humors
- Changing the Face of Medicine: Celebrating America's Women Physicians
- Every Necessary Care and Attention: George Washington and Medicine
- Fire and Freedom: Food and Enslavement in Early America
- Harry Potter's World: Renaissance Science, Magic, and Medicine
- Healing the Nation: Stories from the Civil War
- Pictures of Nursing: The Zwerdling Postcard Collection
- So, What’s New in the Past?: The Multiple Meanings of Medical History - Profiles in ScienceArchival collections (letters, articles, photographs, videos, etc.) of prominent scientists, physicians, and others. Also available on Pinterest
- Turning the Pages (Apple iPad app)
App that allows you to virtually turn the pages of rare medical books and manuscripts from the U.S. Library of Medicine's collections and includes historian and curator annotations when available. - Turning the Pages (Web version)Website uses Flash to virtually turn the pages of rare medical books and manuscripts from the U.S. Library of Medicine's collections and includes historian and curator annotations when available.
Hospitals
- Hospital CompareMedicare-certified hospitals in U.S.
- HospitalInspections.orghospital inspections reports from U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, not complete yet
Mental Health
- Alzheimers.govU.S. government portal for "Alzheimer's disease and related dementias care, research, and support"
- MentalHealth.govMental health information provided by these U.S. government agencies: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC); MedlinePlus and National Institutes of Health; National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH); Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA); Youth.gov
Military & Veterans Health
- Parenting2Go
Apple iOS App
Designed to help parents strengthen parenting skills by discussing challenges, providing practical tips for handling challenges (especially those faced by military families), promoting positive communication, and reducing stress with guided exercises. Free online Parenting for Service Members & Veteran course with standalone modules complements app and may be of interest to non-military parents, too. - Suicide Safety Plan
Android or Apple iOS app
Helps individuals create a customized plan to identify warning signs, to choose coping strategies to deal with suicidal thoughts and feelings, to reach out to others when needed, and to use methods to make their environment safer. List of emergency resources also is included. - Veterans and Military Health (MedlinePlus)Mobile-optimized website includes summary of health issues faced by veterans and military service members and links to variety of sources.
Publications, Ordering Free or Low-Cost
Research & Statistcs
- American Indian & Alaska Native Genetics Resource Center"Goal of this guide is to provide tribal leaders and AI/AN peoples with the tools and information they need to make their own informed decisions about genetics research." Developed by the National Congress of American Indians Policy Research Center. PDF version of guide also available
- ClinicalTrials.govDrugs and other treatments used in past, present, and future planned research
- National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)Primary health statistics agency in the United States
Safety
Go to Environment & Safety OR Emergencies
Scams & Fraud
- Health Fraud ScamsU.S. Food & Drug Administration advice on avoiding health scams involving medications and products. Includes 4-minute video, Health Fraud Scams -- Be Smart, Be Aware, Be Careful
- Health Scams! Don't Take the RiskU.S. Food & Drug Administration pamphlet
Smoking
- NDQuitsFree programs to help smokers quit and other smoking-related information
- Smokefree 60+Quitting smoking information for older adults
- smokefree.gov"Support, tips, tools, and expert advice to help you or someone you love quit smoking"
- Smoking & Tobacco Use (CDC Office on Smoking and Health)Tips, and resources to help smokers quit and other tobacco use information
Substance Abuse
- FindTreatment.govHotline telephone number listed or search for state-licensed providers who specialize in treating substance use disorders, addiction, and mental illness. Also information about addiction, treatment options, and paying for treatment.
Tests
- RadiologyInfo.org for patients"Tells you how various x-ray, CT, MRI, ultrasound, radiation therapy and other procedures are performed. It also addresses what you may experience and how to prepare for the exams."
Questions?
Northeast Campus - Grand Forks:
Sara Westall MLS
701.293.4173
Northwest Campus - Minot:
Janet Anderson, MLIS
701.857.5435
Southeast Campus - Fargo:
Sara Westall MLS
701.293.4173
Southwest Campus - Bismarck:
Sandi L. Bates, MLIS
701.751.6767
This project has been funded in whole or in part with Federal funds from the Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, under Grant Number 1UG4LM012346-01 with the University of Iowa. The content is solely the responsibility of the authors and does not necessarily represent the official views of the National Institutes of Health.