EFR 500 Literature Review

Finding Academic Articles

Finding useful articles involves finding the right keywords and searching in different databases. Use this Excel spreadsheet to keep track of what databases and sites you've used, keywords, number of results, and links to get back to the source. 

Pro-Tip: When you're in EBSCO databases, use the permalink and not the web.b.ebscohost URL to get back to your article. To find the permalink, click on the article title and look for Permalink on the right under Tools. 

Start with these education databases 

Your research topic might overlap with other disciplines. By searching in other databases, you can cast a wider net and find relevant articles. 

 

Pro-tip: You can search in multiple Ebsco databases at the same time if your research topic overlaps (ex: if you're researching school counseling, you might want to search in ERIC and PsycINFO at the same time)

 

Select Choose Databases and click the box next to the other databases you want to use at the same time. Press Ok and then click the Search button to re-do your search with the same keywords but this time in all the databases you selected. 

For your research, you might want to use dissertations and theses that were done on your topic. You can either search through dissertations and theses indexed in Proquest or choose to search only UND dissertations & theses.You can also find UND dissertations and theses in our institutional repository, the Scholarly Commons.

Google Scholar can be a great resource when you're trying to find related articles for your topic. It's also helpful if you're having some issues finding resources on a topic where there might be a limited amount of available published literature or if you've found some good articles but they're not the most recent publications.

 

Access Google Scholar from Quick Links on the Library homepage. In Google Scholar, paste in the title of the article you're using for your research. Look for the Cited By link underneath the article info. For the example below, 88 articles have cited the Oakleaf & Kaske article since it was published in 2009. By clicking on Cited By, you would see the information for the 88 articles. Look for the PDF or FindIt@UND button to access the articles. 

 

 

Pro-tip: Don't see the FindIt@UND button next to an article you need for your research? Get it through our Interlibrary Loan service!