Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Core EBP Databases
The database covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative medicine, consumer health and other allied health sciences.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. Systematic reviews are recognized as the gold-standard resource in evidence-based health care.
PubMed is a core database for finding articles related to clinical medicine and medical research, but it covers other health science disciplines too.
Other Helpful Resources
ACP Journal Club
Also available in print (Annals of Internal Medicine) at VA and in Ebsco Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition database at Sanford Health
Indexed in PubMed
This "point-of-care" resource provides evidence-based summaries of thousands of clinical topics, including levels of evidence and reference lists.
Free consumer-health website made available by the US National Library of Medicine. Very good for providing background information. Includes patient education materials and online videos and tutorials. Each entry also contains links to clinical trials (via ClinicalTrials.gov) and research articles (via PubMed).
National Guideline Clearinghouse
This website is a free service of the Agency of Healthcare Research and Quality (part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services). It is designed to give health care professionals a source for "objective" and "detailed" clinical practice guidelines.
The primary focus of the PsycINFO database is peer-reviewed literature (articles, book chapters, etc.) on mental health and behavioral science. However, the scope of the database is much broader and includes other subjects, such as medicine, nursing, pharmacology, and physiology.