Public Health

Library of the Health Sciences

resources on health within American Indian and Alaska Native populations

regional resources

Great Plains Tribal Chairmen's Health Board - the area Indian Health Board for North Dakota, South Dakota, Iowa, and Nebraska, which serves as the communication link between the National Indian Health Board, Indian Health Service, and the Tribes.
 
Great Plains Tribal Epidemiology Center - The Tribal Epidemiology Centers (TEC) which serves North Dakota, South Dakota, and Nebraska. TECs are Indian Health Service organizations that serve American Indian/Alaska Native Tribal and urban communities by managing public health information systems, investigating diseases of concern, managing disease prevention and control programs, responding to public health emergencies,  and coordinating these activities with other public health authorities.
 
Research at Cankdeska Cikana Community College - published results of research carried out at Cankdeska Cikana Community College of Spirit Lake. Includes tribe- specific survey results and comprehensive community assessments
 
Great Lakes Inter-Tribal Inc. - the Tribal Epidemiology Center (TEC) which serves Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Michigan. TECs are Indian Health Service organizations that serve American Indian/Alaska Native Tribal and urban communities by managing public health information systems, investigating diseases of concern, managing disease prevention and control programs, responding to public health emergencies,  and coordinating these activities with other public health authorities.

national resources

 
American Indian Health and Diet Project - Includes traditional indigenous recipes
 
Center for American Indian Health - Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. Browse publications on Impact page
 
Centers for American Indian and Alaska Native Health - Colorado School of Public Health - browse collected publications and projects on topics ranging from elder and child health to HIV and diabetes.
 
Medline Plus - the consumer-facing version of PubMed, has concise links to various kinds of research on American Indian and Alaska Native populations, including clinical trials
 
Native American Ethnobotany Database - A database of plants used as drugs, foods, dyes, fibers, and more, by native Peoples of North America, cross-referenced with the USDA Plants Database
 
National Indian Health Board - The national organization that represents Tribal governments. Their website communicates links to toolkits, guidelines, and ongoing research on various topics such as oral health, zika, diabetes, methamphetamine, suicide, etc.
National Collaborating Center for Indigenous Health - Canada-based, but international in focus, produces environmental scans of indigenous health research and also hosts a database of "research institutes and organizations undertaking Indigenous health research and knowledge translation across Canada and internationally"
 
National Congress of American Indians Policy Research Center - browse published research, toolkits, presentations, etc.
 
National Indigenous Elder Justice Initiative - browse published research, toolkits, presentations, etc.
 
National Resource Center on Native American Aging -  browse published research, toolkits, presentations, etc.
 
The Urban Indian Health Institute - "As a Public Health Authority and one of 12 Tribal Epidemiology Centers in the country—and the only one that serves Urban Indian Health Programs nationwide—UIHI conducts research and evaluation, collects and analyzes data, and provides disease surveillance to strengthen the health of American Indian and Alaska Native communities." located in Seattle, WA, with full-text resources available for download online.

 

journals

American Indian and Alaska Native Mental Health Research - Open access, peer-reviewed journal, hosted by the Colorado School of Public Health
 
The International Journal of Indigenous Health - peer-reviewed, open access research article journal hosted by the Dalla Lana School of Public Health, University of Toronto
 
Journal of American Indian & Alaska Native Health - Peer-reviewed, only one 2015 issue apparently was published
 

Pimatisiwin: A Journal of Aboriginal and Indigenous Community Health - Peer-reviewed, published 2003-2013

newsletters

Native Aging Visions - National Resource Center on Native American Aging newsletter
 

IHS Primary Care Provider Newsletter - U.S. Indian Health Service

databases of academic articles:

 

iPortal Indigenous Studies Portal - Online database of academic articles, theses, and other resources for indigenous studies. Created by the University of Saskatchewan.
*You may need to come back to our library website to search for the full-text version of the resources you find.
 
Native Health Database - "Health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations." Created by the University of New Mexico

 

CINAHL - an academic article database with a health sciences focus

You can search for your topic using CINAHL Subject Headings (sometimes not preferred terminology of specific communities) or combine these terms with other keywords when searching:

Traditional Healers

Native Americans  [NOTE: "For native peoples of the United States and non-Arctic Alaska regions"]

Medicine, Traditional

Medicine, Native American

Inuit  [NOTE: "Group of culturally similar indigenous peoples of Arctic and near-Arctic Canada, Alaska, and Greenland."

Indigenous Peoples

Health Services, Indigenous

Eskimos [Note: "For genetic and physiological as well as cultural and social discussion of Eskimos."

 

PubMed - a database of academic articles with a medicine and biomedicine focus

You can search for your topic using Medical Subject headings (MeSH) (sometimes not preferred terminology of specific communities) or combine these terms with other keywords when searching:

Alaska Natives

American Native Continental Ancestry Group

Ethnopharmacology

Health Services, Indigenous

Indians, North American

Inuits

Medicine, Traditional

United States Indian Health Service