Philosophy & Religion

Resources for Philosophy

Philosophy

The Oxford Companion to Philosophy.  Ted Honderich, ed.  Oxford: Oxford UP, 1995.  REF B 51 .O94 1995

The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy.  Simon Blackburn.  Oxford: Oxford UP, 2008.  REF B 41 .B53 2008

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy.  Edward Craig, ed.  London: Routledge, 1998.  REF B 51 .R68 1998

Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment.  Alan Charles Kors, ed.  Oxford: Oxford UP, 2003.  REF B 802 .E53 2003

Historical Dictionary of Existentialism.  Stephen Michelman.  Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 2008.  REF B 819 .M53 2008

Historical Dictionary of Feminist Philosophy.  Catherine Villanueva Gardner.  Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 2006.  (Provides a feminist view of key philosophers' ideas).  REF HQ 1190 .G36 2006

 

American Philosophy

American Philosophy: An Encyclopedia.  John Lachs and Robert Talisse, eds.  New York: Routledge, 2008.  REF B 850 .A43 2008

 

Asian

Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy.  Oliver Leaman, ed.  London: Routledge, 2001.  REF B 121 .E53 2001

Encyclopedia of Chinese Philosophy.  Antonio S. Cua, ed.  London: Routledge, 2003.  REF B 126 .E496 2003

 

Ethics

Encyclopedia of Bioethics.  3rd ed.  Stephen G. Post, ed.  New York:  Macmillan, 2004.  REF QH 332 .E52 2004

Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society.  Robert W. Kolb, ed.  Thousand Oaks: Sage, 2008.  REF HF 5387 .E53 2008

Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy.  2 vols.  J. Baird Callicott and Robert Frodeman, eds.  Farmington Hills, MI: Macmillan Reference USA/Gale Cengage Learning, 2009.  REF GE 42 .E533 2009

Encyclopedia of Information Ethics and Security.  Marian Quigley, ed.  Hershey: Information Science Reference, 2008.  REF HM 851 .E555 2008

 

Metaphysics

A Companion to Metaphysics.  Jaegwon Kim and Ernest Sosa, eds.  Oxford: Blackwell, 1995.  REF BD 111 .C626 1995  

Historical Dictionary of Metaphysics.  Gary S. Rosenkrantz and Joshua Hoffman.  Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 2011.  REF BD 111 .R655 2011

 

Science

Encyclopedia of Science and Religion.  J. Wentzel Vrede Van Huyssteen, ed.  New York: Macmillan, 2003.  (Includes entries for philosophers and entries such as, "Philosophy of Science, History of.") REF BL 240.3 .E53 2003

Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics.  Carl Mitcham, ed.  Detroit, MI: Macmillan, 2005.  REF Q 175.35 .E53 2005

Philosophy of Science A-Z.  Stathis Psillos.  Edinburgh: Edinburgh UP, 2007.  REF Q 174.7 .P75 2008

The Philosophy of Science: An Encyclopedia.  2 vols.  Sahotra Sarkar and Jessica Pfeifer, eds.  New York: Routledge, 2006.  REF Q 174.7 .P55 2006

The Routledge Companion to the Philosophy of Science.  Stathis Psillos and Martin Curd, eds.  New York: Routledge, 2008.  3rd floor stacks Q 175 .R68 2008

Resources for World Religions

World Religion

Religions of the World: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices.  4 vols.  J. Gordon Melton and Martin Baumann, ed.  Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2002.  REF BL 80.3 .R54 2002

Global Dictionary of Theology.  William A. Dyrness and Veli-Matti Karkkainen, eds.  Downers Grove, IL: IVP Academic, 2008.  REF BR 95 .G56 2008

 

African Religion 

Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions.  Stephen D. Glazier, ed.  New York: Routledge, 2001.  REF BL 2462.5 .E53 2001

 

Anabaptism 

Concise Encyclopedia of Amish, Brethren, Hutterites, and Mennonites.  Donald B. Kraybill.  Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins UP, 2010.  REF BX 4931.3 .C67 2010 

 

Buddhism

A Dictionary of Buddhism.  Damien Keown.  Oxford: Oxford UP, 2003.  REF BQ 130 .K46 2003

Encyclopedia of Buddhism.  Robert E. Buswell, Jr., ed.  New York: Macmillan, 2004.  REF BQ 128 .E62 2004

 

Christianity

The Cambridge Dictionary of Christianity.  Daniel Patte, ed.  Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2010.  REF BR 95 .C24 2010

The Encyclopedia of Christianity.  Erwin Fahlbusch et al., eds.  Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1999.  REF BR 95 .E8913 1999

The Oxford Companion to Christian Thought.  Adrian Hastings, et al., eds.  Oxford: Oxford UP, 2000.  REF BR 95 .O94 2000

 

Hinduism

The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Hinduism.  1st ed.  James G. Lochtefeld.  New York: Rosen, 2002.  REF BL 1105 .L63 2002

 

Islam

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World.  Richard C. Martin, ed.  New York: Macmillan, 2004.  REF BP 40 .E525 2004

Historical Dictionary of Islam.  Ludwig W. Adamec.  Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 2001.  REF BP 50 .A33 2001

The Quran: An Encyclopedia.  Oliver Leaman, ed.  London; New York: Routledge, 2007.  REF BP 133 .Q87 2007

 

Judaism

The Eerdmans Dictionary of Early Judaism.  John J. Collins and Daniel C. Harlow, eds.  Grand Rapids, MI: William B. Eerdmans, 2010.  REF BM 176 .E34 2010

The New Encyclopedia of Judaism.  Geoffrey Wigoder, ed.  New York: New York UP, 2002.  REF BM 50 .E63 2002

 

Native American Religions

American Indian Religious Traditions: An Encyclopedia.  3 vols.  Suzanne J. Crawford and Dennis F. Kelley.  Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2005.   REF E 98 .R3 C755 2005

Shamanism: An Encyclopedia of World Beliefs, Practices, and Culture.  Mariko Namba Walter and Eva Jane Neumann Fridman, eds.  Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2004.  REF GN 475.8 .S445 2004

 

Protestantism

The Encyclopedia of Protestantism.  4 vols.  Hans Hillerbrand, ed.  New York: Routledge, 2004.  REF BX 4811.3 .E53 2004

 

Quakers

Historical Dictionary of the Friends (Quakers).  Margery Post Abbott, ed.  Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 2003.  REF BX 7611 .H57 2003

 

Sikhism

Encyclopedia of Sikh Religion and Culture.  Ramesh Chander Dogra and Gobind Singh Mansukhani.  New Delhi: Vikas, 1996.  REF BL 2017.3 .D64 1996

 

Shinto

Historical Dictionary of Shinto.  Stuart D. B. Picken.  Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 2002.  REF BL 2216.1 .P53 2002

 

Taoism

Historical Dictionary of Taoism.  Julian F. Pas and Man Kam Leung.  Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 1998.  REF BL 1923 .P37 1998

 

Unitarian Universalism 

Historical Dictionary of Unitarian Universalism.  Mark W. Harris.  Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 2004  REF BX 9809 .H37 2004

 

Non-Religious

The New Encyclopedia of Unbelief.  Tom Flynn, ed.  Amherst, NY: Prometheus Books, 2007.  REF BL 2705 .N49 2007

Historical Dictionary of New Religious Movements.  George D. Chryssides.  Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 2001.  REF BP 601 .C47 2001

New Religions: A Guide: New Religious Movements, Sects, and Alternative Spiritualities.  Christopher Partridge, ed.  New York: Oxford UP, 2004.  REF BP 603 .N492 2004

Resources for Bible Interpretation

Atlas

Oxford Bible Atlas.  4th ed.  Adrian Curtis, ed.  Oxford: Oxford UP, 2007.  REF BS 630 .O96 2007

The Sacred Bridge: Carta's Atlas of the Biblical World.  Anson F. Rainey, and R. Steven Notley.  Jerusalem: Carta, 2006.  REF G 2230 .R28 2006

 

Dictionary

Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible.  David Noel Freedman, ed.  Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2000.  REF BS 440 .E44 2000

The HarperCollins Bible Dictionary.  Rev. and updated.  3rd. ed.  Mark Allan Powell, ed.  New York: HarperOne, 2011.  REF BS 440 .H235 2011

The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible.  George Arthur Buttrick, ed.  Nashville: Abingdon, 2006.  REF BS 440 .N443 2006

 

Commentary

Eerdmans Commentary on the Bible.  James D. G. Dunn, ed.  Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2003.  REF BS 491.3 .E37 2003

The New Jerome Biblical Commentary.  Raymond E. Brown, Joseph A. Fitzmyer, and Roland E. Murphy, eds.  Englewood Cliffs: Prentice-Hall, 1990.  REF BS 491.2 .N485 1990

 

Encyclopedia 

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the Arts.  Timothy Beal, ed.  Oxford: Oxford UP, 2015.  REF BS 538.7 .O94 2015.

The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible.  Merrill C. Tenney, ed.  Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2009.  REF BS 440 .Z63 2009

 

Study Bible

The Catholic Study Bible.  2nd ed.  Donald Senior and John J. Collins, eds.  New York: Oxford UP, 2006.  REF BS 192.3 .A1 2006 .N49 

HarperCollins Study Bible.  Rev. ed.  Harold W. Attridge, ed.  San Francisco: HarperOne, 2006.  REF BS 191.5.A1 2006. S36

The Jewish Study Bible.  2nd ed. Adele Berlin and Marc Zvi Brettler, eds.  Oxford: Oxford UP, 2014.  REF BS 895 .J4 2014

The New Interpreter's Study Bible: New Revised Standard Version with the Apocrypha.  Walter J. Harrelson, ed.  Nashville: Abingdon, 2003.  REF BS 191.5 .A1 2003 .N49 2003

Zondervan NIV Study Bible: New International Version.  Kenneth L. Barker, ed.  Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2002.  REF BS 195 .N37 2002f

 

Research

The Oxford Illustrated History of the Bible.  John Rogerson, ed.  Oxford: Oxford UP, 2001.  REF BS 445 .O94 2001