Open Aleph Acquisitions/Serials
1.) Check to see if the book is in the system.
2.) Search at least two different ways (i.e. first word title/last name author combined, title or author exact, isbn, etc.)
3.) If a series is listed, search the series. READ MORE ON THIS BELOW.
SERIALS SERIES CONTINUING RESOURCES:
A series may be printed on the submitted material or the item itself may be a serial.
IMPORTANT: If CFL has a serial bib record for the series, use this record to order. DO NOT add another record.
Search on the WEB OPAC connected to the University of ND Library Catalog
Do a Basic Title search
if the title appears the FORMAT will display to the left of the title
If the FORMAT is SE click on the view for this title
Call number with location appears
Click on the call number to display items
Items have holdings?
If we do not have the year requested
AND
if the FORMAT is SE you MUST do more research!
Search in the Acquisitions/Serials node of the GUI
Do a title search in the binoculars
Highlight the title and click the Serials button (lower right corner)
Click on Subscription List in the left-hand column
Read the NOTE on tab 3 Subscription Info
Explanation of the notes can be found at: sernotex.htm#Note
If it says FIRM ORDER or NotON_SO it is probably safe to order
BUT
order on this record DO NOT create a new record.
SERIES search on the WEB OPAC
Search on the WEB OPAC connected to the University of ND Library Catalog
Do a Basic Title search
Too many records? Fill in the Jump to Text box and enter the first word of the title
FORMAT can be SE or BK
Click on the view for this title
Now look for local notes such as:
PALS Checkin record
ANALYTICS PER CONTENTS (AS APPROPRIATE)
Call number with location appears
Click on the call number to display items
Items have holdings?
Notice that if the volume # in question is on standing order the display will indicate the expected date. Perhaps the analytic title does not search, but the correct volume number is displayed with an expected date.
If we do not have the ANALYTIC TITLE or the VOLUME# requested
OR it does not display with an expected date
you MUST do more research!
Search in the Acquisitions/Serials node of the GUI
Do a title search in the binoculars
Limit titles by FORMAT SE
Highlight the title and click the Serials button (lower right corner)
Click on Subscription List in the left-hand column
Read the NOTE or the SUBSCRIPTION NOTE on
tab 3 Subscription Info
Refer to the explanation of the notes to determine whether this is on STANDING ORDER or should be firm ordered. Notes can be found at:
sernotex.htm#Note
If there is no subscription record and it is a FIRM ORDER and the main series has a local note ANALYTICS . . . . be sure to add this note to the order record.
If you are still not sure ASK!
A. HOW DO I SEARCH?
1.) Choose/click the binoculars
2.) There are three choices listed Find Browse Show
3.) Choose FIND
4.) Tab1 - Advanced search
5.) First box (Base) should be ODN01
6.) In the first set of double boxes - in the first box drop down - choose the type of search you will do i.e. ISBN
7.) In the box to the right of the type of search - enter the appropriate info (if you are performing a title, author, or other word search, bear in mind only the first word in the box searches this is a browse.)
8.) If you have located the record, double check to see that it is owned by UND.
B. WE HAVE THIS BOOK:
1.) We have this book and the gift slip says IF DUP., DO NOT ADD. The book goes to the book sale location unless it has been donated by John Smith. If it has been donated by John Smith and CFL is not adding it, the book goes to Mary Drewes, Collection Development. Leave the gift slips in the book. Add a note: DUP/your initials/date.
2.) We have this book, and the gift slip says IF DUP., ADD COPY 2. Click ORDERS. Now proceed to Section D: Attaching the order to the Bib (Brief or Full)
C. WE DO NOT HAVE THIS BOOK:
In the top tool bar choose Orders
Under orders choose Catalog order
The first option, ODN01 ODN01 US MARC Bibliographic, should be highlighted
If this is the case, click OK.
Fill in the blanks with the following order information:
Record format - ALL CAPS BK (book) SE (serials) MU (music)
ISBN must have this or the OCLC #
author (last name, first name) ; editor if no author (only first named)
title must have
edition if not the first
publisher
Date (published)
OCLC must have this ONLY if NO ISBN
ACQ note is for instructions that indicate how the item might circulate or useful information that does not meet the criteria of the various boxes, such as series. These notes can be viewed by the public.
Examples:
CAT for Sp COL
CAT for REF
CAT for GEOL
CAT for FINE ARTS
In series: Bulletin of the Museum of Comparative Zoology
Finished?
Click OK
Now you have created a BRIEF Bibliographic record. It has a bib/system number and is searchable. The information entered in the order template can only be changed in the cataloging node.
D. ATTACHING the ORDER to the bib (brief or full):
You have just completed the template and clicked OK
OR
The book/record is in the system and you have clicked ORDERS
1.) Screen appears to be blank (unless there is already an order on this bib).
2.) Click on the ADD button in the upper right.
3.) Choices are: monograph, serial, or standing order.
4.) Mark the radio button for monograph.
5.) Click the OK button.
Tab 2, General information. Your incomplete order has been given an order number.
1.) Order Group (click on the arrow and choices of bibliographers appear) Choose the Bibliographer/Order group responsible for this order.
2.) Material Type click on the arrow and choose the appropriate material type, most likely a book.
3.) Sub-Library click on the arrow and choose the appropriate Sub-Library.
4.) Acquisition Method click on the arrow and choose the appropriate acquisition method G for gift.
5.)Library Notes: use to indicate special instructions, such as bookplate, CAT for REF, ADDED, etc ADDED PA3575.U95 1996 This cop. for SP. COL.
INCL. 1 CD-ROM Baby Barcodes
NYP (Not Yet Published) Expected June 2010
These are notes that should be read when the item is received. These notes pertain to who gets the item what they should do with it. They are not viewed by the public.
Tab 3, Vendor information.
1.) Vendor Code click on the dots and choose the correct vendor
UND Gifts Energy
UND Gifts Geology
UND Gifts General Collection CFL
UND Gifts Music
UND Gifts Periodicals
UND Gifts Special Collections
2.) Order Delivery Type LE/LETTER
3.) Letter Send Method: PRINT
4.) Delivery Type choose the method, usually surface mail (S).
Tab 4, Quantity and Price.
1.) Number of Units being ordered - generally 1, in the Number of Units box. Watch out because the 0 does not disappear without deleting it!
2.) Create Item Records the little box should be checked; if not, click on the arrow in the box to the right.
3.) Item Collection - choose the appropriate collection.
4.) Currency enter the currency type (i.e. USD)
5.) Unit/List Price 0.01.
6.) Encumber Budget click on the drop down and choose a budget for this item.
GIFTER-2006 OR / Gifts Energy
GIFTGE-2006 OR / Gifts Geology
GIFTMA-2006 OR / Gifts General Collection CFL
GIFTMU-2006 OR / Gifts Music
GIFTPD-2006 OR / Gifts Periodicals
GIFTS-2006 OR / Gifts
GIFTSC-2006 OR / Gifts Special Collections
Click REFRESH (buttons on the right).
This will provide you with a bubble of any missing information.
Everything okay?
Click ADD (on the bottom right)
Your order now appears highlighted in blue in the top half of the screen.
Write the bib/system number on the bibliographer order slip.
Click SEND
The Acquisition Order Slip appears. It is not necessary to print this.
Click Close.
TROUBLESHOOTING OR something is wrong: