Research Process

Your concept map or topic worksheet should have helped you to identify key terms to use to search online databases, book catalogs, or on the Web.  

Most databases allow you to enter multiple terms in combination to find the articles that most closely match your specific topic.  Some search strategies are listed below:

• In some databases, placing an asterisk (*) after a word will pull up all variant endings, for instance student* will pull up student or students.
• In some databases, quote marks ("") around words will pull up the words next to one another, for example, "sleep deprivation."

When it comes to multiple terms to search for

• Begin by writing your topic as a research question. 
  • For example, How does sleep in students affect their success?
    • Next, you should identify the key concepts in your research question.
      • Sleep
      • Students
      • Success
    • Because authors do not always use the same terms to describe specific concepts, it is helpful to think of some synonyms for these terms before you begin your search.
      • Sleep could be "sleep deprivation"
      • Students might be schoolchildren, third-graders, or undergraduates
      • Success is similar to succeed. Maybe even grades. 

Adapted from Central Michigan University (Off-Campus Library Services) Literature Review libguide.

Seminole State Library.  Choosing Search Terms.  Retrieved from http://youtu.be/AXXbBMT0BtY

• Skim first, read later: When beginning to find sources to learn about your topic, you can save yourself a lot of time and frustration by skimming an article first. If an article has an abstract, start by reading that -- it typically contains an overview of the content and a preview of the main argument. Then, if it looks relevant, you can spend some time reading it fully once you've selected a few sources to provide context for the topic or issue you've chosen to address.

• Check out the bibliography: Especially once you've located a solid source or two, take note of who they cite in their essays. Are there any names that come up again and again? Do any of the sources they cite sound like they'd help you learn more about your topic? When you find a potential source in a bibliography, make note of it and search for it in the UND databases -- we may just have it!

• Use varied search terms: Even if you strike gold with your first search, don't underestimate the value of using different or more specific search terms. Look for common terms and phrases that appear frequently in the sources that seem most relevant to your topic, and then use that vocabulary to make the search feature work more efficiently for you. Using this feedback loop will yield even better results. The broader your base of knowledge on a topic, the better prepared you'll be when you start using the information you've learned. While you do want to know when it's time to stop researching and begin writing, it can't hurt to have a little more information at your disposal!

• Ask questions: Even if your research is going well, be sure to ask a librarian or your instructor when any questions pop up. As experts in their fields, they will be able to quickly offer suggestions and solutions to most of the hurdles you may encounter. And ask your peers -- remember, they are researching too! Collaboration is a key component in learning, so don't hesitate to ask around if you encounter an obstacle during the research process.