available in multiple formats
licensed under multiple creative commons licenses
OER Commons is a database of open educational resources created in 2007 by the Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education. Resources available in the Health, Medicine, and Nursing Collection include full courses, lectures, videos, articles, etc.
available in multiple formats
licensed under multiple creative commons licenses
"The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work."
Biology is designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course for science majors. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens. Biology includes rich features that engage students in scientific inquiry, highlight careers in the biological sciences, and offer everyday applications. The book also includes clicker questions to help students understand—and apply—key concepts.
Concepts of Biology is designed for the typical introductory biology course for nonmajors, covering standard scope and sequence requirements. The text includes interesting applications and conveys the major themes of biology, with content that is meaningful and easy to understand. The book is designed to demonstrate biology concepts and to promote scientific literacy.
Microbiology covers the scope and sequence requirements for a single-semester microbiology course for non-majors. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health. The pedagogical features of the text make the material interesting and accessible while maintaining the career-application focus and scientific rigor inherent in the subject matter. Microbiology’s art program enhances students’ understanding of concepts through clear and effective illustrations, diagrams, and photographs.
Microbiology is produced through a collaborative publishing agreement between OpenStax and the American Society for Microbiology Press. The book aligns with the curriculum guidelines of the American Society for Microbiology.
Mathematics for Biomedical Physics is an open access peer-reviewed textbook geared to introduce several mathematical topics at the rudimentary level so that students can appreciate the applications of mathematics to the interdisciplinary field of biomedical physics. Most of the topics are presented in their simplest but rigorous form so that students can easily understand the advanced form of these topics when the need arises. Several end-of-chapter problems and chapter examples relate the applications of mathematics to biomedical physics. After mastering the topics of this book, students would be ready to embark on quantitative thinking in various topics of biology and medicine.
The lab manual was written as the first installment that coincides with two lab courses taught at the University of Oklahoma (BME3171, BME3181). These courses are designed to provide Biomedical Engineering students with lab skills and experience in biomedical engineering research and clinical techniques. This manual is used with BME3171 Lab 1 and the following topics are covered in this lab manual; functional human models, musculoskeletal lever systems, bioimaging (ultrasound), bioelectricity (electromyography), & uni-axial testing.
The lab manual was written as the second installment that coincides with two lab courses taught at the University of Oklahoma (BME3171, BME3181). These courses are designed to provide Biomedical Engineering students with lab skills and experience in biomedical engineering research and clinical techniques. This manual is used with BME3181 Biomedical Engineering Lab 2 and the following wet lab topics are covered in this lab manual; bioimaging, cell culture, tissue engineering, live-dead and DNA assays.
