The type of research question you have determines whether you should look in a textbook or an article for your evidence:
Examples of background and clinical questions:
Background questions |
Clinical questions |
|
What is the prognosis for anterior cruciate ligament injuries? |
In teenage female athletes with anterior cruciate ligament injuries, how do injury prevention programs affect rates of reinjury? |
|
What is best practice in screening for future hamstring injuries in athletes? |
In athletes with significant hamstring injury risk factors, does screening multiple times in a season improve the identification of future injury risk? |
|
How does type 2 diabetes affect bone turnover and incidence of bone fractures? |
In persons with type 2 diabetes and low bone turnover, can a lifestyle intervention focused on activity and exercise decrease incidence of bone fractures? |
|
What is the etiology of traumatic brain injury? |
Are mouth guards effective in preventing traumatic brain injuries among adolescent hockey players? |
|
What is the prognosis of ADHD? |
Is participation in team sports more effective in reducing the symptoms of ADHD in adults than aerobic exercise alone? |
Clinical evidence resources
contain mostly articles, best suited for more specific, clinical, questions:
Databases
- SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new windowSports and sports medicine journals, books, and dissertations.
Journals
- Journal of Applied PhysiologyAmerican Physiological Society (1887- )
- Medicine and Science in Sports and ExerciseAmerican College of Sports Medicine
- American Journal of Sports MedicineAmerican Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine.
- Exercise and sport sciences reviewsAmerican College of Sports Medicine.
- Journal of Athletic TrainingNational Athletic Trainers Organization
- American Journal of Physical Medicine & RehabilitationAssociation of Academic Physiatrists
- Annals of physical and rehabilitation medicineSociété française de médecine physique et de réadaptation
- Archives of Physical Medicine & RehabilitationAmerican Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine.; American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation.
Background evidence databases
contain evidence more suited to general research questions:
- VisualDx This link opens in a new windowDatabase of dermatologic, infectious, and drug-induced diseases.
- Anatomy.tv This link opens in a new windowPrimal Pictures Anatomy.tv provides a 3D atlas of human anatomy, a 3D real-time interactive tool through which you can layer and remove organ systems, and several other helpful modules, including an imaging module and a quizzing module.
Electronic textbooks are a great source of background evidence
Kinesiology: Scientific Basis of Human Motion by ISBN: 9780078022548Publication Date: 2011-01-28.
AVAILABLE TO READ ONLINE
Since the 1950s, Kinesiology: Scientific Basis of Human Motion has remained the definitive kinesiology text for college students. The twelfth edition continues the text’s tradition of examining human motion through the integrated presentation of anatomy and biomechanics and applying that knowledge to a wide variety of motor skills. This edition retains the text’s strong coverage of physiology combined with current scholarship in biomechanics as applied to motor skills.
Basic Biomechanics by ISBN: 9780073522760Publication Date: 2014-02-18.
AVAILABLE TO READ ONLINE
The seventh edition of Basic Biomechanics has been significantly updated from the previous edition. The approach taken remains an integrated balance of qualitative and quantitative examples, applications, and problems designed to illustrate the principles discussed. Includes numerous sample problems and applications, along with practical advice on approaching quantitative problems.
Orthopedic and Athletic Injury Examination Handbook by ISBN: 9780803639195Publication Date: 2015-04-30.
AVAILABLE TO READ ONLINE
Tap into easy-to-follow, step-by-step guidance on the evaluation and initial management of specific orthopedic and athletic injuries with the companion to Examination of Orthopedic and Athletic Injuries, 4th Edition. From evaluative procedures for palpation and range of motion through neurologic, ligamentous, and special tests, everything you need now in the lab, and later in the field or in the clinic, is here. It's a terrific preparation tool for the BOC examination, too.
Brunnstrom's Clinical Kinesiology by ISBN: 9780803623521Publication Date: 2011-12-30.
AVAILABLE TO READ ONLINE
A classic reborn for its Golden Anniversary. Now celebrating its 50 years in print, this text has held onto the foundation of its great success, while also being re-invented for today's audience. The focus of this text remains the practical instruction of functional anatomy in order to quickly, and convincingly, guide readers to its use in professional performance. This text is filled with modern applications that will show your students the relevance of foundational material to their future careers. An all-new author team of expert instructors Peggy Houglum and Dolores Bertoti, a brand-new, full-color design, and new learning and teaching resources online at DavisPlus all make the field's gold standard more valuable than ever as it prepares readers to apply theory to clinical practice.
Davis's Drug Guide for Rehabilitation Professionals by ISBN: 9780803625891Publication Date: 2013-03-30.
AVAILABLE TO READ ONLINE
A one-of-a-kind guide specifically for rehabilitation specialists! A leader in pharmacology and rehabilitation, Charles Ciccone, PT, PhD offers a concise, easy-to-access resource that delivers the drug information rehabilitation specialists need to know. Organized alphabetically by generic name, over 800 drug monographs offer the most up-to-date information on drug indications, therapeutic effects, potential adverse reactions, and much more! A list of implications for physical therapy at the end of each monograph helps you provide the best possible care for your patients. It's the perfect companion to Pharmacology in Rehabilitation, 4th Edition!
Pediatric Practice Sports Medicine by ISBN: 9780071496773Publication Date: 2009-02-05.
AVAILABLE TO READ ONLINE
A treatment-focused guide for sports-related health issues in children and adolescents. More than 450 full-color illustrations, tips at every stage of care, diagnostic and treatment algorithms, signs/symptoms and differential diagnosis boxes, "What to Refer" boxes, diagnostic tests, medical treatment coverage that includes drugs, dosages, and administration.
Physical textbooks
available for in-building use at the Information Resources desk on the 2nd floor of the Grand Forks School of Medicine building
Daniels and Worthingham's Muscle Testing by ISBN: 9781455706150Publication Date: 2013-01-15Find this book at the Library Resources desk on the second floor of the Medical School
ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription by ISBN: 9781609136055Publication Date: 2013-02-09Find this book at the Library Resources desk on the second floor of the Medical School
ACSM's Resource Manual for Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription by ISBN: 9780781769068Publication Date: 2009-02-01Find this book at the Library Resources desk on the second floor of the Medical School
Color Atlas of Anatomy by ISBN: 9781582558561Publication Date: 2010-03-26Find this book at the Library Resources desk on the second floor of the Medical School
AMA Manual of Style by ISBN: 9780195176339Publication Date: 2007-03-15Find this book at the Library Resources desk on the second floor of the Medical School
