Research Guides: EDL 995: Finding Databases & Articles

Finding Articles

The search bar on the library's homepage searches the Library's catalog, several general and subject databases, publisher's online journal collections, and many valuable research collections that are available on the internet. While it does include books and other materials from the library catalog, as well as thousands of articles and academic databases, it is not comprehensive.

When using the search bar, these are the effects of the different search options:

Everything - searches the library's print and online books, online journals and online reference sources.
Articles - searches online journal, magazine and newspaper articles, reviews, and conference proceedings available through many of the library's electronic subscriptions.
Books+ - searches all UND libraries' catalogs - books, videos, government documents & journal titles in print.
Journal Titles - use this if you have the name of a journal and you want to see if the library owns it online or in print.

The Best Bet is to try using the Databases.

Database Best Bets

Beneath the Search Bar on the library's homepage, there are several boxes.

Databases A-Z - Helpful to search for the name of a specific database, such as Business Source.
Research Guides - These subject guides give advice on the best databases and journals for their subject areas, such as Education.

A few databases that will be of help to you:

Education Databases
A list of top education databases at Chester Fritz Library
Teacher Reference Center
Index of Journals for Teachers and Administrators
New York Times in Education
Our NYT subsciption includes access to their education resource website, nytimes.com/edu
From an on-campus computer (or off campus, use the link on the CFL website), type in “University of North Dakota” where it asks for institution, and create an account. (no access to crossword puzzles or cooking, sadly).
Features:
· Discipline-specific areas of study
· Classroom discussion prompts
· Suggested learning outcomes
· General Instructional Strategies to promote student achievement
· Co-Curricular Activities, including events, discussions, and contests
Ethnic Diversity Source
Over 5,000 full text e-books, journals, magazines, newspapers, and other materials related to diversity, discrimination, anti-racism, ethnic studies, disability studies, gerontology and age studies, migration studies, gender and sexuality studies, cultural studies, and religious studies.
Sage Journals Online
Full-text of articles is available for journals 1999 to present.