First Year Study Aids: Torts

This study aid features an innovative method of content organization. It uses a checklist format to lead students through questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve. It also synthesizes the material in a way that most students are unable to do on their own, and assembles the different issues, presenting a clear guide to procedural analysis that students can draw upon when writing their exams. Other study aids provide sample problems, but none offers the systematic approach to problem solving found in this book combined with concise analytical summaries of the leading issues in tort law.

A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course.

The perfect accompaniment to any torts casebook, this text covers all the major cases and issues in a standard torts course. The text addresses cases and analyzes their implications, presenting the law of torts within a curricular context and covering the materials that law students are likely to encounter in a variety of courses. Used successfully by law students for over three decades, this straightforward, readable text addresses both rules and policy, and presents topics in a way that helps students effectively grapple with issues. Since each chapter stands on its own, the book is ideal as a classroom text, as well as for self-directed reading by students.

The proven Glannon Guide is a user-friendly study aid to use throughout the semester as a great supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Topics are broken down into manageable pieces and are explained in a conversational tone. Chapters are interspersed with hypotheticals like those posed in the classroom that include analysis of answers to ensure thorough understanding. Additionally, The Closer questions pose sophisticated hypotheticals at the end of each chapter to present cumulative review of earlier topics. More like classroom experiences, the Glannon Guide provides you with straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes the material stick.

This edition provides a wealth of new material drawn from summaries of and quotations from scholarly books and articles and case law. The subjects of this new material are rich in their range of topics. They include: The "precautionary principle" Summaries on tort rationales that range from references to Kantian philosophy and a riff on Harry Potter The relation of tort law to public law Varied materials on consent The duty question, including a summary of a recent Supreme Court case and scholarship in the area Material on privacy ranging from Prosser's classification system to LGBT plaintiffs The roles of race and gender in calculations of damages A criticism of "tort reform" efforts Case law on the "baseball rule" with respect to spectator injuries. Matters of topical 'headline" interest include smartphones as distractions and certain aspects of publication of photos on the Internet. Celebrities mentioned in items under different categories are Joan Rivers, Jesse Ventura, and Jim Boeheim.

In this updated and refreshed version of his concise book Professor Schechter, an award-winning teacher and prominent national bar lecturer, has balanced brevity and humor with a clear, crisp, and accessible review of basic Torts doctrine. His comprehensive survey includes not only thorough coverage of core topics such as negligence and strict products liability, but an overview of economic and dignitary torts, damages issues, and vicarious liability as well. This best-selling, highly rated Torts book has proven hugely popular with students. As the series title promises, the author has kept it short, and the book will make students happy.

A clear, concise, current, and authoritative explanation of all of the most important U.S. tort law doctrines, including those covered in first-year torts courses in law schools. Coverage includes tort law origins and objectives; causation; strict liability; negligence liability and defenses; intentional tort liability and defenses; special liability rules (premises liability, products liability, employers, etc.); damages; tort and contract; immunities; wrongful death and survival; defamation; privacy; misrepresentation.

While commuting or exercising learn about battery; assault; false imprisonment; intentional infliction of emotional distress; defense of self, others, property; recapture of chattel, trespass to land, trespass to chattel, conversion, public/private necessity, consent; negligence: duty, breach, proximate cause, joint tortfeasers; damages: nominal, punitive, and compensatory; surviving personal injury actions; wrongful death, wrongful birth/life, strict liability, affirmative defense to negligence with economic advantage, nuisance, misuse of judicial process, products liability, defamation and related torts, invasions of privacy. Information useful to preparing and pressing your case.

This audio lecture includes information on intentional torts, defenses to intentional torts, plaintiff’s dignitary interests, negligence, defenses to negligence, strict liability, products liability, and vicarious liability.

Aspen Aloud is a series of narrated audio summaries for legal studies in 1L or 2L subject areas: Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Corporations and Other Business Entities, Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Evidence, Property, and Torts. Consisting of easy-to-follow, non-casebook-specific chapters broken up into audio files of approximately 10 to 30 minutes each, Aspen Aloud covers the main topics of a subject area to help students understand the concepts they learn in class throughout the semester and to study for exams on the go.

The videos from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Tort Law lectures, Linda DeMetrick gives an introduction to Torts and covers Cause in Fact, Comparative Negligence, Immunities, Products Liability, and Proximate Cause. Lawrence H. Davison explains Intentional Torts, Landowner Liability, Reasonable Person Test, Res Ipsa Loquitur, and Violation of Statute.

This product is a study aid that helps law students prepare to take their torts exam. Students gain a more thorough understanding of torts and a better understanding of how to take exams by taking the sample objective exams and reviewing the corresponding answers and analysis.

These electronic flashcards present objective questions on legal topics covered in your law school courses. Helpful explanations accompany correct answers, providing a great way to test your knowledge in black letter law for class and exam preparation.

Practice makes perfect! Friedman's Practice Series helps you develop the skills for spotting issues and preparing A+ answers for your next exam. Real laws school exams test your knowledge of the key concepts and rules with a collection of essay and multiple-choice questions. Set up to mirror actual exams, the series features long essay questions as well as some that are relatively short and medium-length, giving you great practice in the length and variation of questions on the final. Friedman's is one of the only series to fully emulate complete essay examinations - they are as close to actual exam-questions that you can find. And as Friedman's texts are compiled by professors who wrote the exams, you get sound advice as well as keen insight on what instructors look for in grading your answers. Friedman's Practice Series titles test your knowledge with real law school exams. Test your knowledge of key concepts and rules with comprehensive essay and multiple-choice questions. Practice questions of various length prepare you for any exam. Experience actual exams! Get sound advice from the professors who wrote the exams. Find insight into what professors look for when grading.

Black Letter Outlines are designed to help law students and novice lawyers state clear legal rules, describe underlying tort principles, and apply those rules and principles to client representations and other real-world scenarios. Readers can use Black Letter Outlines as a study aid when preparing for classes, as a subject-matter review when studying for course or bar examinations, and as a convenient and easily-navigable refresher for the novice lawyer. Black Letter Outlines are written by experienced law school professors who are recognized national authorities in their subject area. New authors Abrams and Porter bring a niche expertise that combines their years of tort law practice experience with their classroom teaching experience and their added lenses of bar exam readiness instruction and inclusive pedagogy expertise. This Torts Outline particularly helps students see the major tort causes of action, developments and trajectory shifts in the field, and representative practice problems. It is a useful tool in helping aspiring Torts mavens at once see the big picture of Torts while also refining their precision in stating its rules and validating their knowledge by measuring content acquisition.

Emanuel CrunchTime® for Torts, Sixth Edition, by Steve Emanuel focuses on those topics that are important in today’s courses on Torts and includes an abundance of short-answer questions and answers as well as exam tips.

Any law school graduate will tell you that when picking your outline tool, you need to pick the best because your outlines are the most important study tool you will use throughout your law school career. Developed by legendary study aid author Steve Emanuel, Emanuel® Law Outlines (ELOs) are the #1 outline choice among law students. An ELO ensures that you understand the concepts as you learn them in class and helps you study for exams throughout the semeste

The subjects discussed in this outline are intentional torts, negligence, strict liability, products liability, nuisance, survival of tort actions, wrongful death, and immunity. Also included are release and contribution, indemnity, workers' compensation, no-fault auto insurance, defamation, invasion of privacy, misrepresentation, injurious falsehood, interference with economic relations, and unjustifiable litigation. This edition has been updated with the latest provisions of the ongoing Restatement Third of Torts.

This book contains a complete analysis of the law of torts for law students, in an accessible format for quick study and review. It is designed for use in class and when preparing for exams. The main outline section contains explanations of concepts and terms, with exam hints, strategies, mnemonics, charts, tables, and study tips. Contains self-testing and diagnostic review questions.