Research Guides: IS 325 Federal Policy and Native Nations: Finding Articles

Databases

These are just a few of the hundreds of databases hosted by the CFL. Contact your librarian if you would like help determining which are the best resources for your project.

North American Indian Thought and Culture
Includes oral histories, personal writings, drawings, photographs, biographies, autobiographies, audio files and more related to American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Peoples. Find collections related to specific events, people, tribes, and more.
Ethnic Diversity Source
Over 5,000 full text e-books, journals, magazines, newspapers, and other materials related to diversity, discrimination, anti-racism, ethnic studies, disability studies, gerontology and age studies, migration studies, gender and sexuality studies, cultural studies, and religious studies.
JSTOR
An archive of important scholarly journals, eBooks and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Offers high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as originally published.
Academic Search Ultimate

Academic Search Ultimate offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
U.S. Supreme Court Records & Briefs, 1832-1978
Records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court.

Journals

These are just a few of the possible journals that might contain useful information for your project. Contact your librarian if you would like help with these resources.

Search for Journals in the Library Catalog
American Indian Law Review (Hein Online)
Serves as a nationwide scholarly forum for analysis of developments in legal issues pertaining to Native Americans and indigenous peoples worldwide. Adhering to the traditional law review format, the Review offers in-depth articles by legal scholars, attorneys and other expert observers. In addition, the Review offers comments and notes written by student members and editors on a wide variety of Indian law-related topics.
American Indian Culture and Research Journal
One of the premier journals in Native American studies, publishes original scholarship, commentaries, and book reviews on a wide range of issues in the fields of history, anthropology, geography, sociology, political science, health, literature, law, education, and the arts.
Wicazo Sa Review
interdisciplinary journal devoted to the mission of assisting Indigenous peoples of the Americas in taking possession of their own intellectual and creative pursuits. During the past two decades, American Indian Studies has emerged as a central arena in which Indigenous populations in the United States define the cultural, religious, legal, and historical parameters of scholarship and creativity essential to the ongoing process of decolonization and to survival in the modern world.
American Indian Quarterly
One of the dominant journals in American Indian studies by presenting the best and most thought-provoking scholarship in the field. The journal is a forum for diverse voices and perspectives spanning a variety of academic disciplines. The common thread is AIQ’s commitment to publishing work that contributes to the development of American Indian studies as a field and to the sovereignty and continuance of American Indian nations and cultures.