Bibliographic Databases
- "... a database of bibliographic records, an organized digital collection of references to published literature, including journal and newspaper articles, conference proceedings, reports, government and legal publications, patents, books, etc. In contrast to library catalogue entries, a large proportion of the bibliographic records in bibliographic databases describe articles, conference papers, etc., rather than complete monographs, and they generally contain very rich subject descriptions in the form of keywords, subject classification terms, or abstracts" (Feather 2003).
- consists of citations or pointers to the medical literature
For Example:
Full-Text Databases
- A full-text database is a compilation of documents in which the complete text of each referenced document is available for online viewing, printing, or downloading. In addition to text documents, images are often included, such as graphs, maps, photos, and diagrams.
- Sometimes e-journal collections simply contain all journals published by a particular publisher. Oxford Journals is published by Oxford University Press. Cambridge Journals by Cambridge University Press. Taylor & Francis Online by Taylor & Francis imprints, such as Routledge.
- Sometimes other suppliers publish or re-publish the contents of digitized journal.
- Full-text journal databases generally do not have the advanced search options that bibliographic databases offer, but they can still be used as a source for literature research. Mainly because of the large number of journal titles they contain.
For Example:
Annotated Content
- Image databases—collections of images from radiology, pathology, and other areas
- Genomics databases—information from gene sequencing, protein characterization, and other genomic research
- Citation databases—bibliographic linkages of scientific literature
- EBM databases—highly structured collections of annotated evidence-based information or clinical evidence.
- Other databases—miscellaneous other collections
Aggregated Content
- A means of curating content where you pull information together from online sources for reuse.
