Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NW Clinical/Community Faculty

An all-around general purpose resource guide to assist you with your day-to-day research and instruction needs

All Resources...and how-to access them

IF YOU KNOW WHERE YOU WANT TO GO JUST CLICK ON THE LINKS BELOW...

 

PsycInfo                                   Access Medicine                            Drug Information Portal 

  

VisualDX                                        ClinicalKey                                              CanopySpeak 

 

Anatomy.TV                                 Cochrane Library                                                PubMed

 

Psychiatry Online                           Embase                                                          DynaMed

 


IF YOU WANT INFO ON WHAT THESE TOOLS ARE AND HOW TO ACCESS THEM...

Useful Database Info – School of Medicine & Health Sciences UND

(Special install instructions included, if required)


 

 

 

Access Medicine

A comprehensive online resource collection from McGraw-Hill Medical that provides authoritative and continuously updated information. This tool is anchored by over 85 core textbooks in medicine and the basic sciences. Additional features include a wealth of content in the form of thousands of images, updated practice guidelines from Current Practice Guidelines in Primary Care, Quick Medical Dx and Tx (evidence-based quick review outlines of conditions and disorders), the Diagnosaurus® (a downloadable differential, point-of-care app / mobile resources), clinical prep resources, calculators, integrated drug database (with customizable printable patient handouts) and 2Minute Medicine (latest research updates). 

  • See an overview on this resource HERE 
  • To install:
    • Log in to UND's AccessMedicine.
    • Click on Sign in link in upper right corner of home screen and then select Sign in or Create a Free MyAccess Profile
    • Create a profile.
    • Download appropriate app and use your Profile login to start using the app

 

 

Anatomy.TV

Primal Pictures Anatomy.tv provides a 3D atlas of human anatomy, a 3D real-time interactive tool through which you can layer and remove organ systems, and several other helpful modules, including an imaging module and a quizzing module. Anatomy.TV resources (3D models, animations, MRI sections, slides, movie clips) can be saved and embedded in your e-portfolios, blogs, H5P's, PowerPoint presentations and other presentation tools such as Prezi, Canvas and Emaze

  • Learn more on how to use this resource HERE 

undefined

 

CanopySpeak

(Language assist) Medical translator includes phrases in Spanish, Chinese, French, Arabic, Russian, Haitian Creole, Hindi, Japanese, Korean, Vietnamese, and more. A recent NIH award-winning app that currently has 10 pre-translated medical phrase sections: General, Anesthesia, Dentistry, Dermatology, Emergency Medicine, General Surgery, Internal Medicine, Obstetrics & Gynecology, Ophthalmology, and Pediatrics.


 

 

 

ClinicalKey

A search engine that grants access to 1,400+ Topic Pages, 1,100+ Elsevier medical books, 650+ Elsevier medical journals, 50+ Clinics - full text medical and surgical review articles, 2.2 million+ medical images for use in presentations and handouts (these plus its nifty Presentation Maker allows you to export images to PowerPoint presentations and ino worries! It automatically inserts the image citation info), 300+ Procedures Consult articles and associated videos, 17,000+ Elsevier medical videos, 850+ First Consult point-of-care clinical monographs, 3,100+ drug monographs from Gold Standard, 9,000+ customizable patient ed handouts, 4,500+ Practice Guidelines, AND fully indexed, searchable clinical trials retrieved daily from the clinicaltrials.gov database. ClinicalKey also offers physicians 0.5 CME credits towards their Maintenance of Certification (MOC) with American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM)

  • Find out how to use the many features of this search engine HERE 
  • To install:
    • Go to https://www.clinicalkey.com/#!/registration.
    • Click on Register (upper right of home screen) and complete the registration form using your UND email address. Then click on the Register button.
    • A "Registration Successful" message will appear and an email will be sent to you.
    • Open the registration confirmation email, and click the link provided to activate remote access. Please note: The activation link expires 72 hours after you receive it.
    • A confirmation message will indicate activation is complete and will prompt you to log in.
    • Complete login process.
    • Install the ClinicalKey Android or Apple iOS app on your mobile device.
    • Open the app. The first time you do, you will create your settings. On the Choose Edition screen, select Global. On the Choose Role screen, select ClinicalKey.
    • Next you will see a Log In screen. Enter the username and password you registered in ClinicalKey.

undefined

 

 

 

Cochrane Library

A collection of seven databases, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR). The CDSR is the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care, providing up-to-date information about the effects of health care interventions. The CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews, randomized trials, protocols, and editorials.


 

Drug Information Portal

This resource from the National Library of Medicine provides information on over 73,000 drugs from the time that they are in clinical trials, through their U.S. FDA approval, and then on to the marketplace.


 

 

 

DynaMed

An evidence-based tool that health professionals can use to inform clinical care. DynaMed Plus content undergoes a review process, and the evidence is synthesized in detailed topic overviews. A unique three-level rating scale is used to assess the quality of available evidence. Topic overviews summarize current evidence and provide recommendations to support health providers at the point-of-care using an easy-to-read bullet format, images, clinical calculators, patient handouts, and practice guidelines -  all in one place! And did we mention, an app? Why yes, there is one and you want it! Look for app installation tips on our mobile resources page...

  • For a quick DynaMed overview click HERE 
  • To install:
    • If you do not have a personal account, create one in UND's DynaMed (Sign In top blue bar, Register Now, fill out form).
    • Open app
    • Choose Sign In
    • Type your personal account email name and password

undefined

 

 

 

Embase

A comprehensive source for biomedical literature (36 + million records) from peer reviewed journals and conference abstracts, a PICO search builder option, and an additional focus on drugs, pharmacology, and medical devices - includes everything from Medline and then more...just going to leave it with that one word - MORE!

  • To learn more about the Embase PICO search, watch this! (Warning: solid info, sloth-like voice over) 

undefined

 

Psychiatry Online

The platform for all American Psychiatric Association Publishing journals, the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®) library, bestselling textbooks, as well as APA Practice Guidelines, short audio reports on cutting edge psych news briefs, and continuing medical education.

  • ​Here is a short promotional video on the resource 

undefined

 

 

PsycINFO

An abstracts database that provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. (As an added bonus it also includes some records from the 1600s and 1700s!) A neat tool for researchers whether you are looking for scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books or dissertations.

  • ​Here is a quick explanation on how to search within this resource

undefined

 

PubMed

The United States National Library of Medicine (NLM) at the National Institutes of Health maintains this free database of over 30 million citations and abstracts. A free and largely intuitive search engine, PubMed accesses the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics; including the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, as well as bioengineering.

  • For short, handy search tidbits, look here and click on the 'Quick Tour' drop down menu! 

undefined

 

 

 

VisualDX

Although it began as a way to ID dermatological issues, this platform is not just a one-trick pony! It has grown way beyond skin and now, Visual Dx allows you to build a differential diagnosis, beginning with a chief complaint and via a series of questions... ta-da, you are served up with a number of possibilities rated by their probability. It is also forgiving if you don't quite recall the term (seriously, put in 'itchy' and see what comes up!) View images of symptoms and quickly access information about symptoms and clinical information. This app also pairs with Uptodate!

  • If you want the be-all/end-all how-to series, check out this site 
  • To install:
    • Log in to UND's VisualDx.
    • Click on the Get the Mobile App link (left side, below search box and Quick Start Differential Builder button).
    • Complete the form to create a personal login account.
    • Download the Android or Apple iOS app on your mobile device.
    • Open the app and enter the username and password of your personal account.

To see the full listing of UND database resources, why not visit the SMHS Library homepage?!

*Note: The following information resources are available for Trinity Staff, UND Residents that are working in a Trinity Health facility, and UND Clinical Faculty that are also Trinity Staff. If you are not affiliated with Trinity Health, but are affiliated with UND, please look at the tab that precedes this one or hop to this page for more information on the UND resources available to you...or contact the librarian for further assistance. 

IF YOU KNOW WHERE YOU WANT TO GO JUST CLICK ON THE LINKS BELOW...

undefined

undefined

 

 

 

 


IF YOU WANT INFO ON WHAT THESE TOOLS ARE AND HOW TO ACCESS THEM...

Useful Database Info – Trinity Health

(Special install instructions included, if required)


undefined

 

 

 

Clinical Key - Clinical Overviews (evidence-based medicine point-of-care), Procedures Consult, ebooks, journal articles, videos, images, drug information, patient education. A valuable perk? It allows you to store presentations on your account and earn CME credits.

Database access is granted from any Trininet enabled workstation throughout the Trinity Health facilities. Simply type in CLINICALKEY.COM and you will be able to read all online Clinical Key content. If you wish to  download any item (article, drug monograph, image, etc.), you will be prompted to complete a free institutional registration

To register directly, go to https://www.clinicalkey.com/#!/registration. It is advised that you use your TrinityHealth email as Gmail and other service providers will not enable you to secure remote access. A confirmation email will be sent to you.

            For remote app access:

  • Remember that your initial signup is from a Trinity Workstation only. Register as above. Once the confirmation email has been received, log back in on a Trinity workstation and use the drop down menu in the upper right corner below your profile icon, scroll down to “Remote Access”.
  • At first you will be prompted to enter your institutional (Trinity) email address. Do so and then click on the submit button.
  • An email will be sent to you, open it and confirm remote access registration as soon as possible as you will only have 60 minutes to complete the whole process before the activation link expires.
  • A confirmation message will indicate initial remote access activation is complete.
  • NEXT Install the ClinicalKey Android or Apple iOS app on your mobile device.
  • Open the app. The first time you do, you will create your settings. On the Choose Edition screen, select Global. On the Choose Role screen, select ClinicalKey.
  • Next you will see a Log In screen. Enter the username and password you registered in ClinicalKey. Remote Access from your device is now enabled for the length of your residency.

 

 

Lexicomp is a drug information resource that provides clear, concise, point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility data, Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database, and other tools. Lexicomp is also downloadable for remote access, granting you all of the above plus drug shortage info, shareable patient education handouts, flexible display of database results and monograph fields to suit you. Content is stored directly on your device. Database access is granted from any Trininet enabled workstation throughout the Trinity Health facilities. Simply type in http://online.lexi.com/

  • Remember that your initial signup is from a Trinity Workstation only. Go to http://online.lexi.com/
  • Scroll down to the middle of the page, in the center, under ‘Additional Services’, you will see a ‘Remote Access’ button in blue. Click and follow the directions for download or subscription changeover as provided, keep note of the authorization code on the next screen and use the 5 digit pin you receive in your email ASAP. Remember you must register with your institution (Trinity) email address!

undefined

 

 

 

As part of the North Dakota consortium, the Angus Cameron Medical Library has further access to the ODIN resource tools such as Academic Search Premier, AHFS Consumer Medication InformationAlt Health Watch, Consumer Health Complete, Consumer Health Reference Ebook collection, CoronaVirus Research DatabaseHealthSource Consumer Edition, HealthSource Nursing/Academic Edition, and Science Reference Center.

You will need a special login for site use, contact the library at 857-5435 or email the librarian for login passcodes.


undefined

 

 

 

 

An evidence-based clinical resource collection of medical and patient information, ready access to Lexi-comp drug monographs, drug-to-drug interactions, and medical calculators.

 To access, go to https://www.uptodate.com/ from any Trininet-enabled workstation. From here you are able to access any UpToDate content.

           For remote access:

  • Remember that your initial signup is from a Trinity Workstation only. Look in the upper right corner and click on the ‘Register’ button. You will be prompted to sign up. It is suggested that you use a personal email address to set up this account. Once registered, an email will be sent to you with a description of database features, access to the weekly UpDate newsletter and instructions on how to download the remote app. For a step-by-step description of this process 
  • Individual subscribers and registered UpToDate Anywhere users may install the UpToDate Mobile Apps on up to 2 devices…free of charge
  • To learn about how-to use UpToDate 

 

 

This one you can access anytime, anywhere! To access PubMed via the Cameron Library/Trinity Health here. It will feature access to articles from journals and services that this library subscribes to. Any others are accessible too! Just a small work-around by switching to your UND access or by contacting the librarian


 

 



Current Subscription Online Journals

These are accessible from any Trinity desktop or through PubMed and Clinical Key. If you run into any problems, please let me know. A couple of these, like JOSPT, do have special access points.

American Journal of Clinical Nutrition

American Journal of Psychiatry

American Journal of Sports Medicine

Sports Health

Journal of Obstetric, Gynelogic and Neonatal Nursing - With this one, you may be asked to register for a free account. To do this, go to the upper right corner. Once complete, your access ID can be used with a number of other Elsevier online journals.

JOSPT Journal of Orthopaedic & Sports Physical Therapy

Physical Therapy Online

Pediatrics

Psychiactric Services / PsychOnline