Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NW Med Students

A guide to resources available to 3rd and 4th year UND medical students

Online Case Files from Access Medicine

undefinedClinical Neuroanatomy 29e

Author(s): Stephen G. Waxman

 

 

undefinedCase Files: Neurology 3e

Author(s): Eugene C. Toy; Ericka Simpson

 

 

undefinedCase Files: Neuroscience 2e

Author(s): Eugene C. Toy; Evan Yale Snyder; Josh Neman; Rahul Jandial

 

 

 

Graber and Wilbur’s Family Medicine Examination and Board Review, 5th Edition

Author(s): Mark A. Graber; Jason K. Wilbur; Brigit E. Ray

 

Interactive Medical Cases (NEJM)

 

Book CoverWorkbook & Casebook: Goodman and Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics

Neuropharmacology / Douglas E. Rollins; Donald K. Blumenthal


Clinical Key


MedPix

A free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenariosThe content material is organized by disease location (organ system); pathology category; patient profiles; and, by image classification and image captions. The collection is searchable by patient symptoms and signs, diagnosis, organ system, image modality and image description, keywords, contributing authors, etc. It also provides free AMA Category 1 CME credits online. Earn up to 30 minutes of CME with each completed case!!

 

undefinedAdams and Victor's Principles of Neurology, 11e

Allan H. Ropper, Martin A. Samuels, Joshua P. Klein, Sashank Prasad

 

undefinedClinical Neurology, 10e

Roger P. Simon, Michael J. Aminoff, David A. Greenberg

 

 

Cover of On Call NeurologyOn Call Neurology, Fourth Edition

Mayer, Stephan A., MD, FCCM

 

 

 

Cover image Handbook of Clinical NeurologyHandbook of Clinical Neurology

Nick F. Ramsey, José del R. Millán

Book series of 144 volumes!

 

Cover of Netter's NeurologyNetter's Neurology, Third Edition

Srinivasan, Jayashri, MD, PhD, FRCP

 

 

Cover of Bradley's Neurology in Clinical PracticeBradley's Neurology in Clinical Practice, Seventh Edition

Daroff, Robert B., MD

 

 

 

Cover of Primer on Cerebrovascular DiseasesPrimer on Cerebrovascular Diseases, Second Edition

Caplan, Louis R.

 

Cover of Aminoff's Electrodiagnosis in Clinical NeurologyAminoff's Electrodiagnosis in Clinical Neurology, Sixth Edition

Aminoff, Michael J., M.D., D.Sc., F.R.C.P

 

Cover of Aminoff's Neurology and General MedicineAminoff's Neurology and General Medicine, Fifth Edition

Aminoff, Michael J., MD, DSc, FRCP

 

Cover of Atlas of Clinical NeurologyAtlas of Clinical Neurology, Third Edition

Perkin, G. David, BA, MB, FRCP

 

 

Cover of Neurology SecretsNeurology Secrets, Sixth Edition

Kass, Joseph S., MD, JD

 

 

ACTA Neuropathologica

A monthly peer-reviewed scientific journal covering all aspects of neuropathology published by Springer Science+Business Media. It focuses on pathology and pathogenesis of neurological disease, as well as structural and molecular neuropathology using human tissue, animal models and in vitro systems.

For UND subscription holdings go here or contact the librarian for free article access 

Alzheimer's & Dementia

A peer-reviewed journal, Alzheimer's & Dementia aims to bridge knowledge gaps separating traditional fields of dementia research by covering the entire spectrum from basic science to clinical trials and social and behavioral investigations

For UND subscription holdings go here or contact the librarian for free article access 

Brain: A Journal of Neurology

Published by Oxford University Press, this peer-reviewed journal has been in publication since 1878 Brain's latest Impact Factor is 11.337. Discover the neurology research making an impact in the field with a collection of highly cited papers.

For UND subscription holdings go here or contact the librarian for free article access 

Clinical Neurophsyiology

A monthly peer reviewed medical journal published by Elsevier. It was established in 1949 as Electroencephalography and Clinical Neurophysiology and obtained its current title in 1999. The journal covers all aspects of neurophysiology, especially as relating to the pathophysiology underlying diseases of the central and peripheral nervous system.

For UND subscription holdings go here or contact the librarian for free article access 

Experimental Neurology

A monthly peer-reviewed medical journal that focuses on research in neuroscience concerning mechanisms underlying neurological disorders. The journal focuses on neural development, neuroregeneration, neuroplasticity, and transplantation

For UND subscription holdings go here or contact the librarian for free article access 

Journal of Neurology

An international peer-reviewed journal which provides a source for publishing original communications and reviews on clinical neurology covering the whole field. Their 'Letters to the Editors' serve as a forum for clinical cases and an exchange of ideas which highlights important new findings. A section on Neurological progress summarizes major findings in certain fields of neurology.

For UND subscription holdings go here or contact the librarian for free article access

Journal of Neurology, Neurosurgery and Psychiatry

Research from around the world encompassing the entire genre of neurological sciences - common disorders (stroke, multiple sclerosis, Parkinson's disease, epilepsy, peripheral neuropathy, subarachnoid haemorrhage and neuropsychiatry), ALS. Has early online publication, regular podcasts and an immense archive collection.

For UND subscription holdings go here or contact the librarian for free article access

American Academy of Neurology / Medical Students 

Discover more about neurology as a sub-specialty, find out tips on applying for a residency in this field, join an interest group and access resources for medical school. For direct access to the ACCESS Neurology SHELF exam review and tools see below

Access Medicine Study Tools (available through UND)

International Parkinson and Movement Disorder Society Fundamentals Course Series

Educational video presentations conducted by top experts in the Movement Disorders field that provides a complete overview of various aspects and clinical approaches to the evaluation and management of common movement disorders


Mayo Clinic's Epilepsy webpage

MedScape

Neurology® Podcasts

The Neuro-Opthalmology Virtual Education Library

SeizureTracker.com

 


Etc. University Case Studies

 

 

 

 

The four core objectives for the neurology clerkship are to:

  1. Learn to perform a complete neurologic examination.
  2. Gain an understanding of the presentation, evaluation and treatment of the most common neurologic diseases.
  3. Complete a patient write-up, incorporating pertinent neurologic history and examination.
  4. Develop an understanding for localization of neurologic disease through history and examination.

Students will observe or participate with faculty supervision one of each case listed below.

  • Cognitive disorders
  • Movement disorders
  • Epilepsy
  • Neuromuscular disease
  • Headache
  • Cerebrovascular disease (stroke)
  • Neuro-immunology (multiple sclerosis)

You will be expected to see at least one case from each of the above categories. Some of these you will be more likely to see in the inpatient setting (cerebrovascular disease), some in the outpatient setting (cognitive disorder), and others may be more ubiquitous (headache). Each student will be issued a copy of Case Files Neurology, 2nd ed., which can be used to supplement your exposure should you find that you were not exposed to one of these clinical categories during your clerkship. Please return this book at the end of the clerkship.

Suggested Reading: Blueprints: Neurology + Web lectures (see Blackboard for more information)

 

Campus Clerkship Director / Minot:

Bahram Nico (Kordlar), M.D.