Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NW Med Students

A guide to resources available to 3rd and 4th year UND medical students

Family Medicine Resources

Online Case Files from Access Medicine


Graber and Wilbur’s Family Medicine Examination and Board Review, 5th Edition

Author(s): Mark A. Graber; Jason K. Wilbur; Brigit E. Ray

 

MedPix

A free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios. The content material is organized by disease location (organ system); pathology category; patient profiles; and, by image classification and image captions. The collection is searchable by patient symptoms and signs, diagnosis, organ system, image modality and image description, keywords, contributing authors, etc. It also provides free AMA Category 1 CME credits online. Earn up to 30 minutes of CME with each completed case!!

 

Interactive Medical Cases (NEJM)

 

undefinedClinician's Pocket Reference: The Scut Monkey, 11e

Leonard G. Gomella, Steven A. Haist

 

 

CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment: Family Medicine, 5e

Jeannette E. South-Paul, Samuel C. Matheny, Evelyn L. Lewis

 

The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, 3e

Richard P. Usatine, Mindy A. Smith, E.J. Mayeaux, Jr., Heidi S. Chumley

 

Cover of Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2021Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2021

Ferri, Fred F., MD, FACP

 

 

Cover of Textbook of Family MedicineTextbook of Family Medicine, Ninth Edition

Rakel, Robert E., MD

 

 

 

Annals of Family Medicine

An open access, peer-reviewed research journal serving the needs of scientists, practitioners, policymakers, and the patients and communities they serve. It is the top-ranked primary care research journal in the world and charges no fees for publication. The Annals is a collaborative effort of seven family medicine organizations and has been in publication since 2003.  The Annals publishes original research, methodology, and theory, as well as essays from reflective clinicians, patients, families, communities, and policy makers. 

Journal of Family Medicine & Primary Care

The official journal of the Family Medicine and Primary Care Trust, this journal is a peer-reviewed open-access online journal.

Journal of the American Board of Family Medicine

The official peer-reviewed journal of the American Board of Family Medicine (ABFM). Believing that the public and scientific communities are best served by open access to information, JABFM makes its articles available free of charge, no registration required. JABFM is indexed by Medline, Index Medicus, and other services.

Blogs:

undefinedAAFP Blogs/Fresh Perspectives - New Docs in Practice

Stay up-to-date on family medicine news, insights, and opinions with AAFP LeaderVoices, AFP Community Blog, Getting Paid, Fresh Perspectives and In the Trenches

 

Podcasts:

MedScape Podcast Trio for Med Students

  • Family Medicine Podcast

  • FamilyPharm Podcast

  • Everyday Family Medicine

 

Websites:

AAFP Med Student

Access Board Review questions, webcasts, podcasts and research clinical topics and procedures 

Visible Human Project

The National Library of Medicine's Visible Human Project has created publicly-available complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of a human male body and a human female body. Specifically, the VHP provides a public-domain library of cross-sectional cryosection, CT, and MRI images obtained from one male cadaver and one female cadaver. The Visible Human male and female datasets are available for download and as of July 2019, the NLM Data License has been replaced by Terms and Conditions. No registration is required to access this data.

Health and Medicine | Khan Academy

JAMA Learning Videos

Medical Gross Anatomy Dissections (University of Michigan)

MEDtube.net

Videos available in a variety of specialties. There is also a free app.

NIH Videos

Health Videos (MedlinePlus)

"Anatomy of body parts and organ systems and how diseases and conditions affect them"

Rads Consult Web App

Deciding what imaging tests to order for patients? Should you order an X-ray first or go straight to computed tomography (CT) or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI)? What about contrast? How do you handle an incidental finding when the CT report returns? These questions are daunting for students, residents and remain a challenge for seasoned providers. This web app is free and an easy at-your-fingertips resource

Patient Education and Consumer Health Resources

AIDSInfo

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) resource providing information on HIV/AIDS clinical trials and federally approved HIV treatment and prevention guidelines, information on HIV/AIDS treatment, clinical trials, and other HIV/AIDS-related research information for health care providers, researchers, people affected by HIV/AIDS, and the general public

Community Health Maps

Low cost and easy-to-use mapping and mobile communication tools.

Coping with Traumatic Events

It is common to have an intense reaction after a traumatic event, whether the event includes natural disasters, accidents or violence...this site includes resources that help your patient figure out the ins and outs of what they are going through and how to seek support

COVID-19 Resources for Older Adults

Government pandemic resources geared for older adults. Includes financial resources, housing tips, and tips on staying healthy for yourself or if you are caring for a loved one.

Disaster Information

The Disaster Information Management Research Center provides health information resource and informatics research related to disasters of natural, accidental, or deliberate origin

Guides to freely available online disaster medicine and public health literature and related information can be found here

Drug Information Portal

Information for over 55,000 drugs. Names, usage, and structures are displayed, as well as search links to key National Library of Medicine and government sites

Environmental Health and Toxicology Information

Got a question on environmental health and toxicology stuff? Portal to a gold mine of National Library of Medicine databases and resources

Finding and Using Health Statistics

This course describes different types of health statistics, how they are collected, and where they can be found. The data are collected by government, private, and non-profit agencies and organizations. The health statistics reported by these groups are integral to monitoring trends in the health status of populations, planning the allocation of health care resources, and evaluating the effectiveness of public health interventions

Genetics Home Reference

Provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variation on human health

Genetic Services Condition Emergency Cards

Patients and families may print out, complete the cards provided and carry them in case of emergency

Genetic resources for the patient and the physician on Care Coordination | Consumer Advocacy | Disease Specific | Education | Emergency Preparedness | Evaluation | Family Health History | Genetic Service System | Healthcare Access and Financing | Long-Term Follow-Up | Medical Food | Medical Home | Newborn Screening | Region Specific | Telegenetics | Transition

HealthReach

Multilingual and multicultural health information for those working with or providing care to individuals with limited English proficiency

Health Services Research

Do you need to search public health statistics for cost or quality analysis? With directed search starts and informational videos on data visualization, this could be your presentation lifesaver!

LactMed

Find information about maternal and infant drug levels, possible effects on lactation and on breastfed infants, and alternative drugs to consider.

MedlinePlus

Health information for patients, families and health care providers. Also in Spanish

NIH SeniorHealth

Basic Health and wellness information for older adults and their caregivers

Public Health Partners (PHPartners)

Public Health datasets and statistics separated by geographic regions, health education promotions/campaigns and public health downloads

PubMed Special Queries

Here is a goodie! If searching PubMed or Medline has you a bit intimidated, try theses topic-specific search strategies. Includes a directory of topic-specific PubMed queries including AIDS, Bioethics, Cancer, Space Life Sciences and MORE!

ToxTown

An interesting guide to connections between chemicals, the environment, and the public's health. Provides consumer-level information on everyday locations and situations where you might be exposed to toxic chemicals. This site will help you better understand risks of exposure, potential health effects, and how to protect yourself.

Visible Human Project

The NLM Visible Human Project has created publicly-available complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of a human male body and a human female body. Specifically, the VHP provides a public-domain library of cross-sectional cryosection, CT, and MRI images obtained from one male cadaver and one female cadaver. The Visible Human male and female datasets are available for download and as of July 2019, the NLM Data License has been replaced by Terms and Conditions. No registration is required to access this data.

*Note to physicians, hospital staff, residents or med students* Many of our databases have Patient Education handouts that you are able to send through their server, in a number of languages...check out our popular databases page here if you are affiliated with UND or here if you are affiliated with Trinity