Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NW Med Students

A guide to resources available to 3rd and 4th year UND medical students

Online Case Files from Access Medicine

Resident Readiness®: Internal Medicine

Author(s): Debra L. Klamen; Susan Thompson Hingle

Lists inpatient, Outpatient and Transitions of Care for Review

 

 

MedPix

A free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenariosThe content material is organized by disease location (organ system); pathology category; patient profiles; and, by image classification and image captions. The collection is searchable by patient symptoms and signs, diagnosis, organ system, image modality and image description, keywords, contributing authors, etc. It also provides free AMA Category 1 CME credits online. Earn up to 30 minutes of CME with each completed case!!

 

Interactive Medical Cases (NEJM)

undefinedHarrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 20e

J. Larry Jameson, Anthony S. Fauci, Dennis L. Kasper, Stephen L. Hauser, Dan L. Longo, Joseph Loscalzo

 

undefinedCurrent Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2020

Maxine A. Papadakis, Stephen J. McPhee, Michael W. Rabow

 

undefinedDeGowin’s Diagnostic Examination, 11e

Manish Suneja, Joseph F. Szot, Richard F. LeBlond, Donald D. Brown

 

 

 

Cover of Goldman-Cecil MedicineGoldman-Cecil Medicine, Twenty-Sixth Edition

Goldman, Lee, MD

 

Cover of Churchill's Pocketbook of Differential DiagnosisChurchill's Pocketbook of Differential Diagnosis, Fourth Edition

Raftery, Andrew T., BSc MB ChB(Hons) MD FRCS(Eng) FRCS(Ed)

 

 

Merck Manual

The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy

 

Annals of Internal Medicine

An academic medical journal published by the American College of Physicians (ACP). According to their website, it is one of the most widely cited and influential specialty medical journals in the world. Annals publishes content relevant to internal medicine/related sub-specialties, a variety of original research, review articles, practice guidelines, and commentary relevant to clinical practice, health care delivery, public health, health care policy, medical education, ethics, and research methodology. The journal also publishes personal narratives that convey the feeling/art of medicine. Selected articles in the journal are open access but others are by subscription only.

So here is how to access:

For their open access ACPonline content go here and scroll down the contents page. All free articles are marked with an icon

For UND subscription holdings go here or contact the librarian for free article access 

 

JAMA Internal Medicine

A monthly, peer-reviewed medical journal published by the American Medical Association. It was established in 1908 as the Archives of Internal Medicine and obtained its current title in 2013. It covers a wide variety of internal medicine sub-specialties - cardiovascular disease, geriatrics, infectious disease, gastroenterology, endocrinology, allergy, immunology, etc.

For UND subscription holdings go here or contact the librarian for free article access 

Internal & Emergency Medicine

An independent, international journal devoted to all topics related to science and practice of internal and emergency medicine and designed for internists and emergency physicians. Official Journal of the Italian Society of Internal Medicine.

For UND subscription holdings go here or contact the librarian for free article access 

Internal Medicine News

Full-text MedScape medical journal article access granted at no cost with registration account

Journal of General Internal Medicine

The official journal of the Society of General Internal Medicine. It promotes improved patient care, research, and education in primary care, general internal medicine, and hospital medicine. Its articles focus on topics such as clinical medicine, epidemiology, prevention, health care delivery, curriculum development, and numerous other non-traditional themes, in addition to classic clinical research on problems in internal medicine

For UND subscription holdings go here or contact the librarian for free article access 

Journal of Internal Medicine

A peer-reviewed scientific journal that publishes original clinical work from bench to bedside covering a broad field of its sub-specialties. JIM features original articles, reviews and clinical updates.

For UND subscription holdings go here or contact the librarian for free article access 

 

ACP Journal Club

ACP Journal Club's general purpose is to select from the biomedical literature those articles reporting studies and reviews that warrant immediate attention by physicians attempting to keep pace with important advances in internal medicine. These articles are summarized in "value added" abstracts and commented on by clinical experts.


Medical Matrix

A Guide to Internet Clinical Medicine Resources from the American Medical Informatics Association

Merck Manual

A FREE online medical text website. The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, referred to as The Merck Manual, is the world's best-selling medical textbook, and the oldest continuously published English language medical textbook. First published in 1899, the current print edition of the book, the 20th Edition, was published in 2018. Written by over 300 experts, it covers all but the most obscure disorders, in addition to describing symptoms, common clinical procedures, laboratory tests, and virtually all the disorders that a general internist might encounter.

Visible Human Project

The National Library of Medicine's Visible Human Project has created publicly-available complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of a human male body and a human female body. Specifically, the VHP provides a public-domain library of cross-sectional cryosection, CT, and MRI images obtained from one male cadaver and one female cadaver. The Visible Human male and female datasets are available for download and as of July 2019, the NLM Data License has been replaced by Terms and Conditions. No registration is required to access this data.

Health and Medicine | Khan Academy

JAMA Learning Videos

Medical Gross Anatomy Dissections (University of Michigan)

MEDtube.net

Videos available in a variety of specialties. There is also a free app.

NIH Videos

Health Videos (MedlinePlus)

"Anatomy of body parts and organ systems and how diseases and conditions affect them"

Rads Consult Web App

Deciding what imaging tests to order for patients? Should you order an X-ray first or go straight to computed tomography (CT) or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI)? What about contrast? How do you handle an incidental finding when the CT report returns? These questions are daunting for students, residents and remain a challenge for seasoned providers. This web app is free and an easy at-your-fingertips resource

 

 

"The third-year internal medicine clerkship's role in the education of medical students is to teach fundamental knowledge and develop skills and behaviors necessary to care for adult patients, regardless of the students' final career paths. In the context of caring for patients, medical students learn a logical approach to diagnosis of significant symptoms and signs, basic therapeutic approaches to common diseases ranging from emergent to chronic, and an understanding of the role of the internist in caring for people across the spectrum from healthy to critically ill." (Woolliscroft, JO. The Internal Medicine Clerkship and the National Debate on Primary Care Education. Am J Med. 1994;96:IV-VII


One of the requirements of your Internal Medicine Clerkship is the completion of a LEARNING ISSUE. This assignment requires that you follow the steps of evidence-based practice (EBP) to locate information about a clinical question. If you need an EBM/EBP refresher, look below!

[Details for the Learning Issue assignment are available in Blackboard.]

The quick and fun video Sketchy What is EBM?

undefined

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What is it? - 

UND’s Evidence-Based Healthcare Tutorial
UND’s School of Medicine and Health Science library created a tutorial with explanations and further links to resources discussing EBM in healthcare

Center for Evidence Based Medicine
This website contains explanations of EBM as well as links to resources for further learning and tools for EBM practice

        Glossary of EBM Terms
            Definitions of common EBM terms

More in-depth Tutorials - The following tutorials are aimed specifically at Evidence Based Medicine/Practice (EBM/EBP)

Evidence Based Practice Clinical Practice Resources

From Yale University posted on the Cushing/Whitney Medical Library web site.

Evidence-Based Medicine Toolbox

Developed by the Knowledge Translation Program of Toronto.

more...Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM)

Developed at Duke University Medical Center Library.Designed to assist faculty, house staff, and students at Duke University in understanding and teaching the principles involved in practicing EBM.