Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NW Med Students

A guide to resources available to 3rd and 4th year UND medical students

Online Case Files from Access Medicine

Case Files: Pediatrics 5e

Author(s): Eugene C. Toy; Mark D. Hormann; Robert J. Yetman; Margaret C. McNeese; Sheela L. Lahoti; Mark Jason Sanders; Abby M. Geltemeyer

 

Graber and Wilbur’s Family Medicine Examination and Board Review, 5th Edition

Author(s): Mark A. Graber; Jason K. Wilbur; Brigit E. Ray

 

Interactive Medical Cases (NEJM)

 

Vanderbilt Cases by System

The Vanderbilt Internal Medicine and Pediatrics Curriculum is a comprehensive, case-based curriculum for the care of adults and children in the outpatient setting. This curriculum can be used by learners in all stages of training, from students to residents to practicing clinicians and is updated regularly to reflect the newest research and guidelines. We have provided a suggested schedule for residency, but feel free to sort by topic or by organ system. Check back regularly for new topics and updates.

Maie El-Sourady, MD, MS, Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine and Pediatrics/Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, TN
Editor-in-Chief


MedPix

A free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenariosThe content material is organized by disease location (organ system); pathology category; patient profiles; and, by image classification and image captions. The collection is searchable by patient symptoms and signs, diagnosis, organ system, image modality and image description, keywords, contributing authors, etc. It also provides free AMA Category 1 CME credits online. Earn up to 30 minutes of CME with each completed case!!

 

Pediatric Education Online

 A useful site covering a broad range of topics currently affecting the pediatrics field. Podcasts, videos, notes, cases, links, etc.

 

Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Pediatrics, 25e

William W. Hay Jr., Myron J. Levin, Mark J. Abzug, Maya Bunik

 

Cover of Fanaroff and Martin's Neonatal-Perinatal MedicineFanaroff and Martin's Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine, Eleventh Edition

Martin, Richard J., MBBS, FRACP

 

Cover of Feigin and Cherry's Textbook of Pediatric Infectious DiseasesFeigin and Cherry's Textbook of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, Eighth Edition

Cherry, James D., MD, MSc

 

 

Cover of Harriet Lane HandbookHarriet Lane Handbook, Twenty Second Edition

Kleinman, Keith, MD

 

 

Cover of Illustrated Textbook of PaediatricsIllustrated Textbook of Paediatrics, Fifth Edition

Lissauer, Tom, MB BChir FRCPH

 

Cover of Nelson Essentials of PediatricsNelson Essentials of Pediatrics, Eighth Edition

Marcdante, Karen J., MD

 

Cover of Nelson Pediatric Symptom-Based DiagnosisNelson Pediatric Symptom-Based Diagnosis

Kliegman, Robert M., MD

 

 

Cover of Netter's PediatricsNetter's Pediatrics

Florin, Todd A., MD

 

 

Cover of Pediatric Clinical SkillsPediatric Clinical Skills, Fourth Edition

Goldbloom, Richard B., OC, MD, FRCPC

 

 

 

Cover of Pediatric Decision-Making StrategiesPediatric Decision-Making Strategies, Second Edition

Pomeranz, Albert J., MD

 

Cover of Pediatrics A Competency-Based Companion¬†Pediatrics: A Competency-Based Companion 

McMahon, Maureen C., MD

 

 

Cover of Zitelli and Davis' Atlas of Pediatric Physical DiagnosisZitelli and Davis' Atlas of Pediatric Physical Diagnosis, Seventh Edition

Zitelli, Basil J., MD

JAMA Pediatrics

A monthly peer-reviewed medical journal published by the American Medical Association. It covers all aspects of pediatrics.

Clinical Pediatrics

A peer-reviewed medical journal that seeks to publish and to accessible information on a variety of child-centered care topics including those of a clinical, scientific, behavioral, educational, or ethical nature

Journal of Pediatrics

An international peer-reviewed journal that advances pediatric research and serves as a practical guide for pediatricians who manage health and diagnose and treat disorders in infants, children, and adolescents. The Journal publishes original articles that are immediately applicable to practice (basic science, translational research, evidence-based medicine), brief clinical and laboratory case reports, medical progress, expert commentary, grand rounds, insightful editorials, “classic” physical examinations, and novel insights into clinical and academic pediatric medicine related to every aspect of child health

World Journal of Pediatrics

The WJoP offers peer-reviewed original papers, reviews and special reports focusing on clinical practice and research in pediatrics. The journal presents contributions on new developments in all areas of the discipline from pediatricians worldwide. Coverage includes the most current progress in pediatrics, pediatric surgery, preventive health care in pediatrics, pharmacology, stomatology and biomedicine. The journal also covers basic sciences and experimental work, and provides a broad academic platform for the international exchange of medical results.

Websites:

undefinedAmerican Association of Pediatrics / Med Students

Tips on How to Survive the Pediatric Clerkship

 

undefinedNEJM Resident 360 Neonatal Rotation Prep Guides      Largely free elements that may assist you with your prep or research during your clerkship

 

MedPix

A free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenariosThe content material is organized by disease location (organ system); pathology category; patient profiles; and, by image classification and image captions. The collection is searchable by patient symptoms and signs, diagnosis, organ system, image modality and image description, keywords, contributing authors, etc. It also provides free AMA Category 1 CME credits online. Earn up to 30 minutes of CME with each completed case!!

 

Podcasts:

 

Pediatric Education Online

 A useful site covering a broad range of topics currently affecting the pediatrics field. Podcasts + videos, notes, cases, links, etc.

 

Emergency Medicine Cases (Pediatric Podcasts) 

Emergency Medicine podcast developed at the University of Toronto. Covers many pediatric topics at a level appropriate for staff physicians, residents, or senior medical students.

PedsRAP 

Subscription-based CME podcast targeted at staff physicians or residents in Pediatrics. They release 3 hours of content per month with 1-2 chapters available for free as a sample.

Surgery 101 (Pediatric Surgery)

Surgery podcast developed at the University of Alberta for medical students. Includes many topics in pediatric surgery.

Elective Description Campus: Northwest

Department: Pediatrics Elective/Experience

Title: General Pediatrics / Course Number: PED 9401

Location of Elective: Trinity Health Center-Medical Arts

Preceptor(s): Ann Cadwalader, MD Michael Holland, MD Frederick Jones, MD Melissa Messerly, MD Diana Peterson, MD Anothony Udekwe, MD Period(s) Offered: All

Course prerequisites: Pediatrics Clerkship

Number of students per period: 1 per period / Revised Curriculum Phase(s): 2 & 3

Purpose: To provide clinical experiences in general pediatrics in anticipation of graduate training in any of the clinical specialties.

Objectives: Following successful completion of this elective, the student will be able to:

1. Demonstrate an increased knowledge base in general pediatrics.

2. Demonstrate improved skills in history taking and physical assessment of infants and children and to record this information in a concise manner.

3. Demonstrate improved assessment skills in growth and psychomotor development in normal and abnormal infants and children.

4. Demonstrate ability to perform examination and assessment of the newborn.

5. Demonstrate the basic skill of newborn resuscitation.

Instructional Activities: During this elective, the student will be involved in/experience:

1. The formation of individual learning objectives for this elective under the guidance of the course director.

2. Preceptor or course director assigned clinical and didactic activities.

3. Both inpatient and outpatient care of the preceptors’ patients.

4. The evaluation of assigned patients and the participation in the medical management of these patients including the ordering of appropriate laboratory and imaging studies as well as formation of appropriate treatment and medication plan.

Criteria for Grading: During and following this elective, the preceptor will:

1. Utilize the standardized UNDSMHS senior elective evaluation form.

2. Evaluate the quality of the completed assignments and tasks.

3. Evaluate the quality of the discussions and oral presentations of the assigned preceptor’s patient cases.

4. Evaluate the extent of meeting the student’s own learning objectives for this elective.

5. Evaluate by direct observation the student’s professional behavior.

These issues and more are available in the current journal subscriptions section of the Angus Cameron Medical Library...call 857-5435  or email cameronlibrary@trinityhealth.org for more information