Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NW Med Students

A guide to resources available to 3rd and 4th year UND medical students

Online Case Files from Access Medicine

undefinedCase Files: Ob/Gyn 5th ed.

Author(s): Eugene C. Toy; Benton Baker III; Patti Jayne Ross; John C. Jennings

 

 

Graber and Wilbur’s Family Medicine Examination and Board Review, 5th Edition

Author(s): Mark A. Graber; Jason K. Wilbur; Brigit E. Ray

 

 

 

MedPix

A free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenariosThe content material is organized by disease location (organ system); pathology category; patient profiles; and, by image classification and image captions. The collection is searchable by patient symptoms and signs, diagnosis, organ system, image modality and image description, keywords, contributing authors, etc. It also provides free AMA Category 1 CME credits online. Earn up to 30 minutes of CME with each completed case!!

 

Interactive Medical Cases (NEJM)


Journal of Case Reports and Images in Obstetrics and Gynecology

Case Reports and Images in Obstetrics and Gynecology is an international, peer reviewed, open access journal publishing high-quality case reports in obstetrics and gynecology and related subspecialties.

The scope of the journal covers case series, case reports, clinical images and letter to editors in the specialty of obstetrics and gynecology and all related subspecialties including gynecologic oncology, female pelvic medicine and reconstructive surgery, reproductive endocrinology, infertility and maternal-fetal medicine

Cover of Gabbe's Obstetrics: Normal and Problem PregnanciesGabbe's Obstetrics: Normal and Problem Pregnancies, Eighth Edition

Landon, Mark B., MD

 

undefinedWilliams Gynecology, 4e

Barbara L. Hoffman, John O. Schorge, Lisa M. Halvorson, Cherine A. Hamid, Marlene M. Corton, Joseph I. Schaffer

 

 

undefinedWilliams Obstetrics, 25e

F. Gary Cunningham, Kenneth J. Leveno, Steven L. Bloom, Jodi S. Dashe, Barbara L. Hoffman, Brian M. Casey, Catherine Y. Spong

 

 

Cover of Comprehensive GynecologyComprehensive Gynecology, Seventh Edition

Lobo, Roger A., MD

 

 

undefinedCURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment: Obstetrics & Gynecology, 12e

Alan H. DeCherney, Lauren Nathan, Neri Laufer, Ashley S. Roman

 

undefinedSmith & Tanagho's General Urology, 19e

Jack W. McAninch, Tom F. Lue

 

 

DeGowin’s Diagnostic Examination, 11e

Manish Suneja, Joseph F. Szot, Richard F. LeBlond, Donald D. Brown

 

 

 

The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, 3e

Richard P. Usatine, Mindy A. Smith, E.J. Mayeaux, Jr., Heidi S. Chumley

American Journal of Obstetrics & Gynecology

A peer reviewed journal of obstetrics and gynecology. It is popularly called the "Gray Journal" and covers the full spectrum of Obstetrics and Gynecology. The aim of the Journal is to publish original research (clinical and translational), reviews, opinions, video clips, podcasts and interviews that will have an impact on the understanding of health and disease and that has the potential to change the practice of women's health care. An important focus is the diagnosis, treatment, prediction and prevention of obstetrical and gynecological disorders. The Journal also publishes work on the biology of reproduction, and content which provides insight into the physiology and mechanisms of obstetrical and gynecological diseases

For UND subscription holdings go here or contact the librarian for free article access 

Current Obstetrics and Gynecology Reports

Provides in-depth review articles contributed by international experts on the most significant developments in the field. By presenting clear, insightful, balanced reviews that emphasize recently published papers of major importance, the journal elucidates current and emerging approaches to the diagnosis, treatment, management, and prevention of conditions that adversely impact the health of women.

For UND subscription holdings go here or contact the librarian for free article access

Human Reproduction

Features full-length, peer-reviewed papers reporting original research, concise clinical case reports, as well as opinions and debates on topical issues. Papers published cover the clinical science and medical aspects of reproductive physiology, pathology and endocrinology; including andrology, gonad function, gametogenesis, fertilization, embryo development, implantation, early pregnancy, genetics, genetic diagnosis, oncology, infectious disease, surgery, contraception, infertility treatment, psychology, ethics and social issues

For UND subscription holdings go here or contact the librarian for free article access 

Human Reproduction Update

A leading journal in its field with an Impact Factor of 12.878, ranked first in the categories of Obstetrics & Gynecology and Reproductive Biology. The journal publishes comprehensive and systematic review articles in human reproductive physiology and medicine. Basic, transitional and clinical topics related to reproduction are of primary interest. This includes all the relevant areas of andrology, embryology, infertility, gynaecology, pregnancy, reproductive endocrinology, reproductive epidemiology, reproductive genetics, reproductive immunology, and reproductive oncology

For UND subscription holdings go here or contact the librarian for free article access 

Journal of Case Reports and Images in Obstetrics and Gynecology

Case Reports and Images in Obstetrics and Gynecology is an international, peer reviewed, open access journal publishing high-quality case reports in obstetrics and gynecology and related subspecialties.

The scope of the journal covers case series, case reports, clinical images and letter to editors in the specialty of obstetrics and gynecology and all related subspecialties including gynecologic oncology, female pelvic medicine and reconstructive surgery, reproductive endocrinology, infertility and maternal-fetal medicine


Perinatology.com 

A collection of journal titles and their abstracts as well as Fetal Treatment Centers across the U.S.

(Remember, if you see something in one of these journal links, you do not have to pay for the article...just contact your NW Clinical Campus Librarian with the title, author and publication date.)

Useful Continuing Education & Clerkship Support Resources

Blogs:

A blog!? Now I know you may doubt the strength of this as a resource but weirdly there is some good stuff on here, worth a glance at the very least. Includes recent posts on all things Ob/gyn as well as videos and podcasts from Howard E. Herrell, M.D.

Websites:

American College of Obstetricians & Gynecologists

Website contains modules, courses, webinars, publications, and (probably the most important to you...) simulations. Provides opportunities for earning AMA Physician Recognition Award (PRA) Category 1 credits or college cognate credits.

Electronic Fetal Monitoring

A fetal monitoring website for basic to advanced study, includes a self-paced tutorial as well as quizzes, a fetal tracing index, and references!

Perinatology.com 

A collection of journal titles and their abstracts as well as Fetal Treatment Centers across the U.S. Remember, if you see something in one of these journal links, you do not have to pay for the article...just contact your NW Clinical Campus Librarian with the title, author and publication date - I can help!

Transforming Maternity Care 

This project engaged more than 100 health care leaders in developing two direction-setting reports in 2010, 2020 Vision for a High-Quality, High-Value Maternity Care System and Blueprint for Action: Steps Toward a High-Quality, High-Value Maternity Care System. They focus on collective efforts to reverse troubling trends and achieving high-quality, high-value maternity care. These and related materials are available here.

Pregnancy Dating 

One of the most important steps in the initial evaluation of any pregnant patient is establishing an accurate delivery date. Accurate knowledge of the gestational age is something that is covered backwards and forwards in this recently updated online publication from this free NIH bookshelf text. If you scroll down on the page it connects you to a questionnaire and links up to a useful calculator

 

During this clerkship, students learn about all elements of women’s health care including pregnancy care, preventive care, management of gynecologic complaints, perioperative care, and gynecologic cancers. Students participate in inpatient and outpatient care of women and encounter a variety of surgical experiences under supervision.

Registered users (students, faculty and staff) have access to further Clerkship information within Blackboard for their specific clinical campus of Bismarck, Fargo, Grand Forks or Minot. Once logged into Blackboard (using your IdM username and password) locate the heading My Organizations and our content will be under OBGYN Clerkship.

Questions? Email Tracey Steffes

OR

Minot OB/GYN Contact:

David Billings, M.D.
Trinity Health
david.billings@UND.edu

undefined