2016-2017 Books by UND Authors at Chester Fritz Library

Books on Education & Philosophy

Simone Weil and Continental Philosophy

Rebecca Rozelle-Stone is an Associate Professor of Philosophy and the Director of Women and Gender Studies at the University of North Dakota. She is an active member of the American Weil Society and served as its President from 2014-2016. She is co-editor of The Relevance of the Radical: Simone Weil 100 Years Later (2009) and co-author of Simone Weil and Theology (2013).

Simone Weil is an often-overlooked thinker whose insights could radically reshape contemporary discourses on religion, nature, art, ethics, work, politics, and education. This collection of essays situates Simone Weil's thought alongside prominent Continental thinkers and their philosophical concerns to show the ways in which she belongs to--but also stands outside--some of the major streams of 'Continental discourse', including phenomenology, ethics of embodied disposition and difference, and post-Marxian political thought. For the first time in a major work, intersections between the ideas of Weil and figures such as Nietzsche, Berdyaev, Foucault, Blanchot, Merleau-Ponty, Levinas, Chretien, Agamben, Fanon, and Ranciere are closely examined. The volume is authored by an international team of leading scholars in Weil studies and in contemporary Continental philosophy of religion more broadly. Simone Weil and Continental Philosophy is not only an unprecedented resource for Weil scholars who seek to read her in broader (and more current) philosophical terms, but also an important addition to the libraries of scholars and students of Continental philosophy and theology engaged in thinking about some of the most pressing questions of our time.

Handbook of Research on Transformative Digital Content and Learning Technologies

Dr. Sagini “Jared” Keengwe is a Professor at the College of Education and Human Development. He is the editor-in-chief of two IGI Global Book Series: Advances in Higher Education and Professional Development (AHEPD) and Advances in Early Childhood and K-12 Education (AECKE). Prof. Keengwe has published over 100 publications in refereed journals, edited books, and book chapters. His primary research interests focus on instructional technologies and active learning pedagogies in teacher education. Prof. Keengwe’s work was honored with the 2011 UND McDermott Faculty Award for Excellence in Academic Advising. He has also been awarded the North Dakota Faculty Spirit Award in recognition of significant contributions to teaching, research, and service. More recently, Prof. Keengwe was a recipient of the 2017 Carnegie African Diaspora Program Fellowship (CADPF).

Technology is constantly evolving and can now aid society with the quest for knowledge in education systems. It is important to integrate the most recent technological advances into curriculums and classrooms, so the learning process can evolve just as technology has done. The Handbook of Research on Transformative Digital Content and Learning Technologies provides fresh insight into the most recent advancements and issues regarding educational technologies in contemporary classroom environments. Featuring detailed coverage on a variety of topics, such as mobile technology integration, ICT literacy integration, digital wellness, online group counseling, and distance learning, this publication will appeal to researchers and practitioners who are interested in discovering more about technological integration in education.

Handbook of Research on Active Learning and the Flipped Classroom Model in the Digital Age

"This book highlights current research on the latest trends in education with an emphasis on the technologies being used to meet learning objective, focusing onteaching strategies, learner engagement, student interaction, and digital tools for learning"-- Includes bibliographical references and index. 

Dr. Sagini “Jared” Keengwe is a Professor at the College of Education and Human Development. He is the editor-in-chief of two IGI Global Book Series: Advances in Higher Education and Professional Development (AHEPD) and Advances in Early Childhood and K-12 Education (AECKE). Prof. Keengwe has published over 100 publications in refereed journals, edited books, and book chapters. His primary research interests focus on instructional technologies and active learning pedagogies in teacher education. Prof. Keengwe’s work was honored with the 2011 UND McDermott Faculty Award for Excellence in Academic Advising. He has also been awarded the North Dakota Faculty Spirit Award in recognition of significant contributions to teaching, research, and service. More recently, Prof. Keengwe was a recipient of the 2017 Carnegie African Diaspora Program Fellowship (CADPF).

 

Handbook of Research on Global Issues in Next-Generation Teacher Education

Dr. Sagini “Jared”  Keengwe is a Professor at the College of Education and Human Development. He is the editor-in-chief of two IGI Global Book Series: Advances in Higher Education and Professional Development (AHEPD) and Advances in Early Childhood and K-12 Education (AECKE). Prof. Keengwe has published over 100 publications in refereed journals, edited books, and book chapters. His primary research interests focus on instructional technologies and active learning pedagogies in teacher education. Prof. Keengwe’s work was honored with the 2011 UND McDermott Faculty Award for Excellence in Academic Advising. He has also been awarded the North Dakota Faculty Spirit Award in recognition of significant contributions to teaching, research, and service. More recently, Prof. Keengwe was a recipient of the 2017 Carnegie African Diaspora Program Fellowship (CADPF).

There is no question that all aspects of modern life have been imbued with technology. In education, students are becoming increasingly savvy in their use of the myriad technologies and virtual tools and must be taught adequate complimentary skills to be effective in the 21st century workforce. To answer this call, teachersâe(tm) education must reflect modern demands by integrating the use of these tools as part of their teaching practices. The Handbook of Research on Global Issues in Next-Generation Teacher Education addresses this need with precise, comprehensive research and case studies. With strategies and emerging research on the empowerment of tomorrowâe(tm)s inspirational educational leaders, this handbook of research outlines the challenges, benefits, and opportunities of engaging teachers with the 21st century skills their students require. Teachers, students of education, administrators, and policy makers will find this publication offers a number of innovative solutions.

Handbook of Research on Promoting Cross-Cultural Competence and Social Justice in Teacher Education

Dr. Sagini “Jared”  Keengwe is a Professor at the College of Education and Human Development. He is the editor-in-chief of two IGI Global Book Series: Advances in Higher Education and Professional Development (AHEPD) and Advances in Early Childhood and K-12 Education (AECKE). Prof. Keengwe has published over 100 publications in refereed journals, edited books, and book chapters. His primary research interests focus on instructional technologies and active learning pedagogies in teacher education. Prof. Keengwe’s work was honored with the 2011 UND McDermott Faculty Award for Excellence in Academic Advising. He has also been awarded the North Dakota Faculty Spirit Award in recognition of significant contributions to teaching, research, and service. More recently, Prof. Keengwe was a recipient of the 2017 Carnegie African Diaspora Program Fellowship (CADPF).

As the demographics of student population shift to include more diverse backgrounds, fluency in the discourse of social justice becomes necessary. This handbook elucidates the benefits, challenges, and strategies necessary to prepare teachers to meet the needs of a diverse student body. This expertly crafted handbook is ideal for teachers, administrators, students of education, and policymakers. Read the Online Book here.

Handbook of Research on Media Literacy in the Digital Age

Dr. Sagini “Jared”  Keengwe is a Professor at the College of Education and Human Development. He is the editor-in-chief of two IGI Global Book Series: Advances in Higher Education and Professional Development (AHEPD) and Advances in Early Childhood and K-12 Education (AECKE). Prof. Keengwe has published over 100 publications in refereed journals, edited books, and book chapters. His primary research interests focus on instructional technologies and active learning pedagogies in teacher education. Prof. Keengwe’s work was honored with the 2011 UND McDermott Faculty Award for Excellence in Academic Advising. He has also been awarded the North Dakota Faculty Spirit Award in recognition of significant contributions to teaching, research, and service. More recently, Prof. Keengwe was a recipient of the 2017 Carnegie African Diaspora Program Fellowship (CADPF).

With the current ubiquity of technological tools and digital media, having the skillset necessary to use and understand digital media is essential. Integrating media literacy into modern day education can cultivate a stronger relationship between technology, educators, as well as students. The Handbook of Research on Media Literacy in the Digital Age presents key research in the field of digital media literacy with a specific emphasis on the need for pre-service and in-service educators to become familiar and comfortable with the current digital tools and applications that are an essential part of youth culture. Presenting pedagogical strategies as well as practical research and applications of digital media in various aspects of culture, society, and education, this publication is an ideal reference source for researchers, educators, graduate-level students, and media specialists.

Handbook of Research on Learner-Centered Pedagogy in Teacher Education and Professional Development

Dr. Sagini “Jared” Keengwe is a Professor at the College of Education and Human Development. He is the editor-in-chief of two IGI Global Book Series: Advances in Higher Education and Professional Development (AHEPD) and Advances in Early Childhood and K-12 Education (AECKE). Prof. Keengwe has published over 100 publications in refereed journals, edited books, and book chapters. His primary research interests focus on instructional technologies and active learning pedagogies in teacher education. Prof. Keengwe’s work was honored with the 2011 UND McDermott Faculty Award for Excellence in Academic Advising. He has also been awarded the North Dakota Faculty Spirit Award in recognition of significant contributions to teaching, research, and service. More recently, Prof. Keengwe was a recipient of the 2017 Carnegie African Diaspora Program Fellowship (CADPF).

Education in the 21st century is shifting focus from accessing and sharing information to designing active and collaborative learning environments that foster student engagement and critical thinking skills. This handbook presents a comprehensive look into the methodologies and strategies necessary to establish classroom climates in which students feel free to question their preconceptions and express opinions. This book is ideal for administrators, teachers, policy makers, and students of education.