Finding Articles
Use databases to find academic articles to continue your research. Below are the most helpful databases for finding relevant articles for theatre topics. Here are some good places to start:
Best Starting Databases for Theatre
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowOnline archive of scholarly journals, especially helpful for Shakespeare research
- Art and Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowAspects of theatre productions and history will be covered in here
Historical and Newspapers
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- US Newsstream (Proquest Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowFull text access to 600 U.S. newspapers, including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.
Finding Reviews in Article Databases
- Make sure you are in Advanced Search
- Put the name of the show in the search box
- Scroll to the bottom (you may need to click More Search Options)
- Look for Document Type:
- Review (in Historical NYT)
- Entertainment Review (in Academic Search)
- Select that and click Search
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
Print Tools for Finding Reviews
- New York Times theater reviews in printReference: PN2266.N48
Indexes and actual reviews starting in the late 1800s and continuing to 1988 - Readers' Guide to Periodic LiteraturePrint Index has its own section for reviews, check each volume individually. Covers popular magazines from 1900 to the present. Indexes Section of Reference Collection
Sign Up for the New York Times
Before starting:
- If you are affiliated with Law or SMHS you are not eligible for this offer
- If you already have an account, you need to cancel it. The Times cannot "convert" a paid account to a UND-sponsored one.
Steps to create account:
- Navigate to the New York Times Access Website
- Find UND - Enter "University of North Dakota" in the search bar provided and select it from the drop down list.
- Select Your Location
- If you are currently on campus, select the link indicating "Click Here" if you are on campus, skip step four
- If you are NOT currently on campus, select the "Go" button
- Enter your UND Login Credentials when prompted
- Create Your Account - Use your school email to create an account and select a password
- Redeem Your Pass:
| Students | Faculty and Staff |
| Select "Student" radio button | Select "Faculty/Staff" radio button |
| Enter your anticipated graduation year (Registration lasts through that year) |
Select the "Sign Up" button |
| Enter an alternate email address, if desired | Registration lasts for four years (renewable) |
| Select the "Sign Up" button |
- Video for Creating an AccountThis video takes you step by step through the process of creating and customizing your account.