World Languages
Handbook of Descriptive Linguistic Fieldwork by Call Number: P128.F53 C44 2011Presents the field of linguistic fieldwork from four points of view: the geographical, the historical, the philosophical and the encyclopedic. It also examines the historical, political, and social variables correlating with fieldwork in different areas of the world. Extensive practical fieldwork tips are provided, as well as a handy sketch of major typological features for use in linguistic analysis.
Linguistic Field Methods by Call Number: P128.F53 V38 2007Linguistic Field Methods approaches the elicitation of linguistic data from native speaker informants in a novel and engaging manner. The authors follow introductory chapters surveying the general enterprise of field research with chapters exploring methods of eliciting data in eight major areas of current linguistic interest: phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, pragmatics, sociolinguistics and dialectology, and historical linguistics.
Understanding Language Choices by Call Number: P40.D327 2012Understanding Language Choices is an introductory textbook for anyone studying the motivations behind language use choices. It provides an introduction into the numerous factors, both internal and external, influencing such choices in a speech community: language attitudes, language learning, identity, the mobility of the community, and much more. The book also provides a foundation for the study of linguistic variation within a speech community, as well as an introduction to methods of data collection when studying the outcomes of language use choices. An important aspect of this book is its emphasis on a participatory approach to language choice research that empowers the speech community. The final chapter discusses lifestyle concerns that researchers may encounter when conducting field studies in developing nations. Written with the beginner in mind, this textbook includes numerous examples and case studies from around the world to illustrate the realities of sociolinguistic field research. A companion website keeps users of the book up to date with descriptions of the most current research methodologies.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies by Call Number: Ref. P 306 .R68 1998The Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies has been the standard reference in the field since it first appeared in 1998. The second, extensively revised and extended edition brings this unique resource up to date and offers a thorough, critical and authoritative account of one of the fastest growing disciplines in the humanities.
The Routledge Handbook of Language and Culture by Call Number: P35.R68 2015The Routledge Handbook of Language and Culture presents the first comprehensive survey of research on the relationship between language and culture. It provides readers with a clear and accessible introduction to both interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary studies of language and culture, and addresses key issues of language and culturally based linguistic research from a variety of perspectives and theoretical frameworks. This Handbook features thirty-three newly commissioned chapters which: Cover key areas such as cognitive psychology, cognitive linguistics, cognitive anthropology, linguistic anthropology, cultural anthropology, and sociolinguistics. Offer insights into the historical development, contemporary theory, research, and practice of each topic, and explore the potential future directions of the field. Show readers how language and culture research can be of practical benefit to applied areas of research and practice, such as intercultural communication and second language teaching and learning.Written by a group of prominent scholars from around the globe, The Routledge Handbook of Language and Culture provides a vital resource for scholars and students working in this area.
In Other Words: A Coursebook on Translation by Call Number: P306.B25 1992This bestselling Coursebook addresses the need for a systematic approach to training in translation studies by drawing on key areas in modern linguistic theory and relating them systematically to a number of translation problems and strategies. The strategies are identified by an examination of authentic examples of translated texts in a variety of languages. No knowledge of linguistics or foreign languages is assumed. Each chapter begins with an explanation of the key linguistic concepts referred to and ends with a series of practical exercises. By striking a balance between theory and practice, the book provides a sound basis for training professional translators.
- Amnesty International Human Rights ReportsAdvocacy and activist organization in the field of human rights, which states that it is "independent of any government, political ideology, economic interest or religion and are funded mainly by our membership and public donations." Reports can be searched by country or by topic. Includes news releases and published reports about countries and topics.
- Background Notes (U.S. State Dept.)Political conditions, economics, foreign relations, travel notes, and more, are included in these official country reports by the US Dept. of State.
- C.I.A. World FactbookGeneral handbook-type information on different countries.
- Country Data (World Bank)The World Bank provides low-interest loans, interest-free credits and grants to developing countries for a wide array of purposes that include investments in education, health, public administration, infrastructure, financial and private sector development, agriculture and environmental and natural resource management. It also includes special pages of economic country data.
- Country Information (IMF)Data produced by the International Monetary Fund (IMF), which works to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.
- Country Studies (Library of Congress)Compiled by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress.
- Europa World PlusThe online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. Covers political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.
- Genocide Watch World ReportsRegional and country reports by this organization.
- Human Rights by Country (UN High Commissioner for Human Rights)Documents most recent human rights observations, reports on country visits, various treaty ratification statuses, etc. Very convenient and comprehensive layout.
- Interactive Map of Human Rights (Council on Foreign Relations)Selected regions and topics with links to CFR content on each issue.
- UNICEF Country StatisticsA project of the United Nations International Children’s Emergency Fund (UNICEF).
- World Report (Human Rights Watch)Summarizes human rights conditions in more than 90 countries and territories worldwide. Reports from 1990 to the present are available to view online.