European Languages
Handbooks and Guides
The benefit to handbooks and guides is that they typically offer the reader an opportunity to survey and learn about a broad field of scholarship in a comprehensive way. They give a snap shop of the discipline covered at the time the book is published. Unlike a retrospective collection of articles, these guides are written or edited as a planned and intentional effort, with chapters and sections interrelating and complimenting one another and thereby tend to be more readable and integrated research works.
Introduction to Indo-European Linguistics by Call Number: P575.S913 1996The introductory section presents a general survey of the principles of diachronic-comparative linguistics, and the remainder of the book is a thorough and detailed analysis, according to those principles, of the phonological and morphological structure of the Indo-European group of languages. Each section of the book has a detailed bibliography, so that the student can progress from the general overview to a more detailed examination of particular topics.
The Nordic Languages by Call Number: PD1519.N67 2002
The Romance Languages by Call Number: PC43.P595 1996What is a Romance language? How is it related to other Romance languages, how did they all evolve, and what can they tell us about language in general? In this comprehensive survey Rebecca Posner, a distinguished Romance specialist, examines this group of languages from a wide variety of perspectives. Her analysis combines philological expertise with insights drawn from modern theoretical linguistics, and relates linguistic features to historical and sociological factors. Her discussion is extensively illustrated with new and original data, and an up-to-date and comprehensive bibliography is included.General Characteristics of Germanic Languages by
Call Number: PD101.M413 1970Guide to the East Slavonic Languages by
Call Number: PG53.D4 1980
Good Starting Databases for European Language Linguistics
The following databases are good places to go to start researching your topic. Each database has a slightly different focus, so you might need to try out a couple of databases before finding one that returns the sort of results you are looking for.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAn archive of important scholarly journals, eBooks and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Offers high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as originally published.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts.
Good Starting Journals for European Language Linguistics
The following are links to specific academic journals which are published and peer-reviewed by experts in the field. If you want tonarrow your search to a specific topic, country, or issue, finding a journal that publishes in that area can help.
- Indo-European LinguisticsThe peer-reviewed journal Indo-European Linguistics (IEL) is devoted to the study of the ancient and medieval Indo-European languages from the perspective of modern theoretical linguistics. It provides a venue for synchronic and diachronic linguistic studies of the Indo-European languages and the Indo-European family as a whole within any theoretically informed or analytical framework. It also welcomes typological investigations, especially those which make use of cross-linguistic data, including that from non-Indo-European languages, as well as research which draws upon the findings of language acquisition, cognitive science, variationist sociolinguistics, and language contact.
- Borealis: An International Journal of Hispanic LinguisticsBorealis: An international journal of Hispanic linguistics is born with the double goal of providing a venue for the publication and discussion of research results on all areas of Contemporary Hispanic linguistics and giving researchers easy access to high quality articles dealing with some of the most crucial unresolved issues about the Spanish language. Borealis publishes original papers both in theoretical and applied linguistics about all varieties of Spanish. The journal has a chief editor, several associate editors and a scientific and advisory board.
- Journal of Comparative Germanic LinguisticsThis journal provides a platform for the discussion of theoretical linguistic research into the modern and older languages and dialects of the Germanic family. The Journal of Comparative Germanic Linguistics features contributions that establish robust empirical generalizations within a formal theory of grammar that permit precise discussions. Its coverage offers cross-linguistic comparison within the Germanic family as well as elucidates issues in Germanic linguistics through the exemplary analysis of one Germanic language.
- Internationale NeerlandistiekInternationale Neerlandistiek is the scholarly journal of the International Association for Neerlandistiek. Internationale Neerlandistiek is a Dutch language, peer-reviewed journal with an international focus. The journal aims to improve the discussion in international Dutch (including South-African) linguistics and literature, in the broadest sense, including intercultural aspects of subdisciplines, communication studies, translation, cultural studies and the culture of the Low Countries in general.