Applied Linguistics
Online Encyclopedias
The following links will take you to online encyclopedias and reference manuals that you can search to help you get started on your research. Here you can find general background information, definitions, and history on many linguistic terms and concepts.
- The Encyclopedic Dictionary of Applied LinguisticsThis volume provides an up-to-date and comprehensive reference guide to the key concepts, ideas, movements, and trends of applied linguistics for language teaching.
- The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Language SciencesThe volume is aimed at readers who have an interest in some aspect of language science but wish to learn more about the broad range of ideas, findings, practices, and prospects that constitute this rapidly expanding field, a field arguably at the center of current research on the human mind and human society.
- Dictionary of Linguistics and PhoneticsDavid Crystal's A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics has long been the standard single-volume reference for its field. Now available in its sixth edition, it has been revised and updated to reflect the latest terms in the field.
Print Encyclopedias and Reference
The library also has a number of print encyclopedias that can be found in the Reference section on the second floor of the library. Reference books cannot be checked out of the library but there are scanners available on the second floor that can be used to scan information from these texts into a PDF which you can email to yourself.
The Encyclopedic Dictionary of Applied Linguistics by Call Number: Ref. P 129 .E53 1998This volume provides an up-to-date and comprehensive reference guide to the key concepts, ideas, movements, and trends of applied linguistics for language teaching.
Online Access: This volume also available online.
Finding Articles
Use databases to find academic articles to continue your research. Below are the most helpful databases for finding relevant articles for in linguistics.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts.
Good Starting Journals for Applied Linguistics
The following are links to specific academic journals which are published and peer-reviewed by experts in the field. If you want to narrow your search to a specific topic or issue, finding a journal that publishes in that area can help.
- Applied LinguisticsApplied Linguistics publishes research into language with relevance to real-world problems. The journal is keen to help make connections between fields, theories, research methods, and scholarly discourses, and welcomes contributions which critically reflect on current practices in applied linguistic research. It promotes scholarly and scientific discussion of issues that unite or divide scholars in applied linguistics. It is less interested in the ad hoc solution of particular problems and more interested in the handling of problems in a principled way by reference to theoretical studies.
- International Journal of Applied LinguisticsThe International Journal of Applied Linguistics (InJAL) publishes articles that explore the relationship between expertise in linguistics, broadly defined, and the everyday experience of language. Its scope is international in that it welcomes articles which show explicitly how local issues of language use or learning exemplify more global concerns.
- Issues in Applied LinguisticsAim is to publish outstanding research from students, faculty, and independent researchers in the broad areas of discourse analysis, sociolinguistics, language acquisition, language analysis, language assessment, language education, language use, and research methodology. We are particularly interested in publishing new departures and cross-disciplinary endeavors in the field of applied linguistics.
- Ampersand: An International Journal of General and Applied LinguisticsServing the breadth of the general and applied linguistics communities; Ampersand offers a highly–visible, open access home for authors. An international, peer–reviewed journal; Ampersand welcomes submissions originating in applied and historical linguistics, phonetics, phonology, pragmatics, semantics, sociolinguistics and syntax. Ampersand offers an alternative outlet for work which might not be considered, or is classed as 'out of scope' elsewhere and prioritizes fast peer review and publication to the benefit of authors and readers.
Featured Books
Currently, the featured books section holds some of the newest additions to the library's collection of research-worthy lingusitics texts.
Linguistics at Work by Call Number: P125.O15 1998Illustrating how linguistic theory effects change in the real world, this text demonstrates the applications of linguistic theory in law, medicine, business, education, social policy, translation, literary analysis and other fields.
Current Issues in Language Evaluation, Assessment and Testing by Call Number: P53.4.C87 2016Current Issues in Language Assessment, Evaluation and Testing: Research and Practice is a collection of research papers, most of which were presented at the 17th World Congress of the International Association of Applied Linguistics (AILA), which was held in 2014 in Brisbane, Australia. The volume comprises 15 chapters presenting current research projects and discussing issues related to language testing and the development of language assessment instruments in a variety of contexts around the world. This anthology will be of use to both new and seasoned researchers within the field of Applied Linguistics and TESOL. Teacher educators, language teachers, and language assessment professionals will find this volume equally useful as the papers present current trends in testing and evaluation.
Applied Conversation Analysis by Call Number: P95.45.A65 2011Each of us is highly skilled at designing our turns at talk, and meshing them with those of the people around us. Conversation Analysis (CA) is the study of just how that is done, and how the choreography of conversation brings off the business we conduct with each other. Conversation Analysis is beginning to have a strong record not only of understanding interaction, but also of seeing how it might be changed. This volume collects together some of the most exciting developments in CA as it is applied to intervention programs in medical communication, speech therapy, mediation, welfare interviewing, surveying, telephone helplines, and other insitutional encounters. The contributors explain the difficulties and the benefits of applying CA in the real world, and with working with external agencies like government institutions, charities, and the medical establishment.
Case Study Research in Applied Linguistics by Call Number: P129 .D37 2007The volume provides an overview of case study methodology and examples of published case studies in applied linguistics, without attempting to be a comprehensive survey of the innumerable case studies that exist. The case studies presented here involve teachers and learners of English and various other languages in North America and other parts of the world. Advice is also given about how to conduct and publish case studies.
