Linguistics

How to Use This Research Guide

This guide is meant to assist you in getting started on your research.

Use the links below for more general information, or click on the  green  navigation tabs for more specific resources.

Below are some general linguistics resources to get your started on your research...

General Linguistics Research Guide

Online Encyclopedias and Reference

The following links will take you to online encyclopedias and reference manuals to help you get started on your research. Here you can find general background information, definitions, and history on many linguistic terms and concepts.

Print Encyclopedias

The library also has a number of print encyclopedias that can be found in the Reference section on the second floor of the library. Reference books cannot be checked out of the library but there are scanners available on the second floor that can be used to scan information from these texts into a PDF which you can email to yourself. 

Finding Articles

Use databases to find academic articles to continue your research. Below are the most helpful databases for finding relavent articles for linguistics.

Good Starting Journals for Linguistics

The following are links to specific academic journals, most of which are published and peer-reviewed by experts in the field. If you want to narrow your search to a specific topic, country, or issue, finding a journal that publishes in that area can help. 

Search the entire library catalog here.

Materials on Linguistics topics are found under the "P" category, which is on 3rd floor of the Chester Fritz Library.‚Äč

P1-1091 Philology. Linguistics
P95-95.6 Oral communication. Speech
P101-410 Language. Linguistic theory. Comparative grammar
P121-149 Science of language (Linguistics)
P306-310 Translating and interpreting
P501-769 Indo-European (Indo-Germanic) philology
Featured Books

Currently, the featured books section highlights some of the library's best handbooks & companions for linguistics, which typically offer the reader an opportunity to survey and learn about a broad field of scholarship in a comprehensive way.  They give a snap shop of the discipline covered at the time the book is published.  Unlike a retrospective collection of articles, these guides are written or edited as a planned and intentional effort, with chapters and sections interrelating and complimenting one another and thereby tend to be more readable and integrated research works.

Loading

Librarian

Kristen Borysewicz's picture
Kristen Borysewicz
Contact:
Reference and Research Services,
2nd Floor Chester Fritz Library
701-777-4647
Website / Blog Page