Physical, mental, social/cultural, and environmental aspects of American Indian health. People & Traditions - Our Stories section of website includes videos made by Native Americans about health and social issues they have faced.
Video interviews with Alaska Natives, Native Americans and Native Hawaiians who practice traditional medicine, Western medicine or a combination of both. Official app of Native Voices: Native Peoples' Concepts of Health and Illness exhibit at National Library of Medicine.
"Processes, problems, and potential inherent in technologies that use life" including:
- use of recombinant DNA in drug production;
- penicillin and consequences of its access and overuse;
- relationship of microbes, mammals, and people inherent in serum therapy; and
- work of Pasteur and his relationship to the brewing and wine-making industry.
Uses characters from the Harry Potter book series to explore and apply basic concepts in genetics. Includes lesson plans, presentation slides, handouts, activities, etc. Based upon the Harry Potter's World: Renaissance Science, Magic, and Medicine exhibit.
Audio definitions by National Human Genome Research Institute experts. Includes some illustrations, 3D animations, and multiple-choice “Test Your Gene Knowledge” quiz that randomly chooses a definition (quiz is never the same) to identify.
Audio definitions by National Human Genome Research Institute experts. Includes some illustrations, 3D animations, and multiple-choice “Test Your Gene IQ” quiz that randomly chooses a definition (quiz is never the same) to identify.
Grades: Pre-K - 12
Teacher Guides "include discussion questions, quizzes and answer keys, classroom activities and extensions, and printable handouts - all aligned to National Health Education Standards." Based upon these Nemours Foundation resources:
- KidsHealth available in English and Spanish.
- TeensHealth available in English and Spanish.
Reliable, up-to-date health information, latest breakthroughs from NIH-supported research, features of famous and other individuals explaining how they have handled health challenges. Free print subscriptions available.
Brief "Quick Tour" videos, tutorials, webcasts, handouts, and other instructional resources. Explain effective searching of PubMed, the database of medical and life sciences journal article citations that includes links to some free full-text articles.
PubMed for Handhelds (PubMed4Hh)
Apple iOS app, Google Android app, mobile website
Searches PubMed, the database of medical and life sciences journal article citations that includes links to some free full-text articles. Includes PICO search, askMEDLINE (free-text, natural language search), and Clinical Queries searching.
Explores various magical and esoteric traditions that shaped how past thinkers conceived of the study of nature in the Renaissance and early modern periods. Inspired by Harry Potter's World: Renaissance Science, Magic, and Medicine exhibit.
Module for six one-hour classes that focus on women's entrance to the medical profession in the 19th Century through readings in fiction, autobiographical documents, and medical history." Part of the Changing the Face of Medicine exhibit.