Archaeology and Prehistory
Encyclopedias and Reference
The following links will take you to encyclopedias and reference manuals to help you get started on your research. Here you can find general background information, definitions, and history on many archeological terms and concepts. Searching in an encyclopedia can also help you find a topic for a paper or project.
Online
- Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and DiscoveriesWritten by the most authoritative scholars from around the world, a massive treasurehouse of information on all aspects of archaeology, from prehistory to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology by Call Number: Ref.CC100.E54 2001Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries explores the archaeologists, sites, debates, techniques, methods, and issues that are central to the global practice of archaeology. Three richly illustrated volumes trace the development of the field from the ancient Greeks to the present day.
The Cambridge World PrehistoryCall Number: Ref. GN710.C36 2014The Cambridge World Prehistory provides a systematic and authoritative examination of the prehistory of every region around the world from the early days of human origins in Africa 2 million years ago to the beginnings of written history, which in some areas started only two centuries ago. Written by a team of leading international scholars, the volumes include both traditional topics and cutting-edge approaches, such as archaeolinguistics and molecular genetics and examine the essential questions of human development around the world.
Archaeological Method and Theory by Call Number: Ref.CC75.A654 2000This Encyclopedia brings together the most recent scientific information on a collection of subjects that are too often - and inconveniently - treated in separate publications. It provides a survey of archaeological method and theory, as well as the application of physical and biological sciences in archaeological research. Every aspect of archaeological work is represented, from the discovery process to the ultimate disposition of materials.
Archaeology in America: An EncyclopediaCall Number: Ref. E159.5.A68 2009Archaeology in America is the first resource that provides students, researchers, and anyone interested in their local history with a survey of the most important archaeological discoveries in North America. Leading scholars, most with an intimate knowledge of the area, have written in-depth essays on over 300 of the most important archaeological sites that explain the importance of the site, the history of the people who left the artifacts, and the nature of the ongoing research.
Finding Articles
Use databases to find academic articles to continue your research. Below are the most helpful databases for finding relevant articles for archaeological topics.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowIncludes the Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK together into one database. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Good Starting Journals for Archaeology
The following are links to specific academic journals which are published and peer-reviewed by experts in the field. If you want to narrow your search to a specific time period or methodology, finding a journal that publishes in that area can help.
- Journal of Archaeological ResearchJournal of Archaeological Research brings together the most recent international research summaries on a broad range of topics and geographical areas.
- The Archaeological JournalThe Royal Archaeological Institute (RAI) is a leading national archaeology society and since 1844 we have annually published the Archaeological Journal. The journal contains papers on the Institute's interests, which span all aspects of the archaeological, architectural and landscape history of the British Isles. It presents the results of archaeological and architectural survey and fieldwork on sites and monuments of all periods as well as syntheses and overviews of such work in the British Isles.
- American Journal of ArchaeologyThe American Journal of Archaeology, published by the Archaeological Institute of America, was founded in 1885 and is one of the world's oldest and most distinguished and widely distributed archaeological journals.
- World ArchaeologyWorld Archaeology is the only journal established specifically to deal with archaeology on a world-wide multiperiod basis and thirty years after it was founded it remains the leader in its field. Each issue is dedicated to one theme of current interest and the papers adopt a broad comparative approach, looking at important issues on a global scale.
Search the entire library catalog here.
Materials on Anthropology are found under the "C" subclass on the fourth floor of the library.
| CC1-4960 | Archaeology |
|---|---|
| CC72-81 | Philosophy. Theory |
| CC73-81 | Methodology |
| CC135-137 | Preservation, restoration, and conservation of antiquities. |
Internet Resources
Digital Repositories, online texts, videos,and sources about archaeology.
- The Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR)An international digital repository for the digital records of archaeological investigations.
- Open ContextOpen Context is a free, open access resource for the electronic publication of primary field research from archaeology and related disciplines.
- National Archaelogical DatabaseThe National Archeological Database—a computerized communications network for the archeological and historic preservation community—was established to improve access to information on archeological activities nationwide. This internationally recognized resource is maintained through a cooperative agreement between NPS and the Center for Advanced Spatial Technologies (CAST) at the University of Arkansas.
- Archaeology Data ServiceThis web portal provides access to the digital corpora of archaeological archives, collections, and publications for Great Britain and Ireland.
- CDLI: Cuneiform Digital Library InitiativeAn open-access digital archive of all known cuneiform tablets from ancient Mesopotamia dating between 3350 BCE and 100CE. Over 200,000 so far.
- Archaeology's Interactive DigFollow online as ancient civilizations are unearthed. Get full access to frequently updated field notes, Q&A with archaeologists, personal journals, and more!
- The Archaeology ChannelGathers information about archaeological research and its contributions to science and to humanity.